Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Acknowledging Women


A few days ago I did a post asking that good men be acknowledged and I am gratified to see that many ladies have done that. Either through a comment on this blog, a posting on their own blogs or in direct emails to me. I thank all and encourage more to continue to do so.

Now, why did I do that? My dear friend Jennie in her post over on her blog pretty much hit it right on. She referred to the way men are generally portrayed on TV or in movies. So often there are one or two rough tough heroes, add a couple of bad guys and you pretty much have it, the cast of men. Now that is not to say that is all the men in the movie. There can in fact be many others. So often though it seems these others are either portrayed as wimps or just back ground characters that just never attract any attention. OK, now that is fine for a movie, you have to have your main characters, your plot etc. you have room and time for the good guys and the bad guys and really nothing in between.

I have to wonder though if we somehow haven’t almost adopted that same process in the living of our lives. As we look out at the world from beyond the limits of our own lives, often do we just see others as the good guys or the bad guys. We know they are there but do we somehow seem to miss the regular guys which are the vast majority of guys. The average, regular, nice guy that doesn’t make it in to the spot light. The bit player in the movie that goes totally unnoticed and ignored.

I guess what I am trying to bring to the forefront is that all men should not be painted with the same brush or seen in the same way. All men don’t fall into the visible hero category, but that does not mean they automatically should be put in the bad guy category or at least a sub grouping of that category. This almost seemingly invisible majority of men are just average nice guys doing their best. Hey they may even be quiet behind the scene heroes.

I read of women giving up on men as there just are no good ones out there. I beg to differ, the world is full of good men.

OK, enough about men. Personally, I totally prefer women. I think if anything women have even a more difficult time in this world with being stereo-typed. Why do we seem to tend to need to group or categorize people?

I received an email recently that perfectly describes my thoughts and feels but is written in a way far better than I ever could. I invite male readers to leave their comments about a general view of women.

Why Women Cry

A little boy asked his mother, ‘Why are you crying?’ ‘Because I’m a woman,’ she told him.

‘I don’t understand,’ he said. His Mom just hugged him and said, ‘And you never will.’

Later the little boy asked his father, ‘Why does mother seem to cry for no reason?’

‘All women cry for no reason,’ was all his dad could say.

The little boy grew up an d became a man, still wondering why women cry.

Finally he put in a call to God. When God got on the phone, he asked, ‘God, why do women cry so easily?’

God said:

‘When I made the woman she had to be special.

I made her shoulders strong enough to carry the weight of the world,

yet gentle enough to give comfort

I gave her an inner strength to endure childbirth and the rejection that many times comes from her children.

I gave her a hardness that allows her to keep going when everyone else gives up, and take care of her family through sickness and fatigue with out complaining.

I gave her the sensitivity to love her children under any and all circumstances, even when her child has hurt her very badly.

I gave her strength to carry her husband through his faults and fashioned her from his rib to protect his heart.

I gave her wisdom to know that a good husband never hurts his wife, but sometimes tests her strengths and her resolve to stand beside him unfalteringly..


And finally, I gave her a tear to shed. This is hers exclusively to use whenever it is needed.’

‘You see my son,’ said God, ‘the beauty of a woman is not in the clothes she wears, the figure that she carries, or the way she combs her hair.

The beauty of a woman must be seen in her eyes, because that is the doorway to her heart – the place where love resides.’



5 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Acknowledging Women

  1. 79sparrows says:

    Your blog is beautiful, just like you.

    i’m adding you to my blogroll.

  2. Mel says:

    *sigh*

    How many times do I get to hear people say “I don’t have a clue WHO I am.”

    I was one of ’em.
    Yup…..bought into to the ‘norms’ and decided two cars and a dog where going to be the benchmark of who MEL was.
    Gratefully someone told me “You’re a child of G-d…….BE what speaks to that.
    Gratefully, today I get to say to other people–“You’re a child of G-d…be what speaks to that.”

    I don’t watch television.
    I don’t bother with newspapers.
    I find my news by visiting other children of G-d who are working to be all that they ARE……bit by bit, day by day.

    I don’t spend a whole lotta time trying to BE like the gal on the television–I try to put my energy into BEING and DOING what speaks to being the child of G-d that I am.
    And you know me, Bill…..the rest is all noise and fluff.

    ……..dangitall that I STILL don’t do it perfectly……guess that means more practice!

    😉

    And you know–it’s kinda fun, this practice stuff……LOL

  3. Juanita says:

    If you would like to know about a GOOD MAN, look in the mirror, and you will see one.

  4. ycmw says:

    Juanita, I second that motion….!
    Cheers Bill.

  5. Richmond says:

    The Filipino term for a wife is “Maybahay” or “Owner of the house”

    Women here are never viewed as an inferior of men. In fact there are terms called “under the saya” (under the skirt) which refers to men who are bossed aroung by their wives.

    Hi Richmond, I appreciate the visit and the comment. I am always interested in hearing about other cultures, languages etc.. I am used to hearing the expression as a man being “whipped” if he is bossed around by his woman. I think there is a big misconception in this whole thing. By the standards of many I would be considered as “whipped”. In all relationships there has to be an element of give and take. I am finding that the little details in life just don’t matter to me all that much. Do you think I really care what color the kitchen is painted, or to which restaurant we may go to, not really. OK the restaurant thing, sometimes I do have a yen for a particular food and will voice my desire but most of the time I is just not that important.

Leave a Reply

