Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Path to Heaven


Feeling really good just tired. Not sleepy tired so much as just sort of worn out tired, no energy.

A short while back I had a chat with a friend. A very nice man in his mid 70’s. He is in good health but I suppose just because of advancing years is starting to think more and more about his own mortality. Not dwelling on it or obsessing about it just occasionally thinking of it. In our chat I learned he has no faith based beliefs at all. He hopes there is something more than just this life time but fears that this is it. You die, you are put in the ground and that is it, end of story. This thought process is so contrary, so foreign to my own I have a bit of a hard time even grasping it.

A few days later I read a comment to the effect that, “religion, faith call it what you will is only a crutch that the weak lean on to help them through tough time as they don’t have the strength within themselves to face reality and deal with it on their own. Pure science has, is and will continue to come up with valid explanations for everything. Show me scientific proof there is a God and then I will believe.”

Now this just really blew my mind, but, hey, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Even if those opinions don’t agree with mine. (and I know all of my thoughts, feelings and opinions are obviously the right ones. lol).

I have never been shy about sharing my thoughts on anything so here we go, with the world according to “Bill”.

I have my own individual personal deeply and firmly entrenched belief system. Has it and is it helping me, oh yeah tremendously. Could it be seen as a crutch that I lean on in time of need? I suppose so, but it is so very much more than that. Now just for the sake of argument, lets just imagine that it is a crutch and only that, nothing more. I would still say, well what is wrong with that. Isn’t anything that helps us through our lives in a supportive and positive way a good thing. I would certainly think so. Here is a “Bill” statistic, what is a “Bill” statistic? A statistic totally made up in my own mind but sounds good to me. I would imagine 95 or 96% of the world population have some sort of faith based beliefs. Certainly all are not the same but I think all or at least most contain some sort of belief in an after life.

To those that say, “show me scientific prove there is an God and I will believe”, well I just say show me scientific proof there is no God and I will stop believing. Be it scientific or not I just see to much in the world that just points to a wonderful loving God.

I consider myself to be a Christian but haven’t found a church that really makes total sense to me in all of its teachings. I have no idea how many there are but I am sure there are literally thousands of different churches or denominations. What is a church, it is a group of people that have banded together to worship in the same way, following the same interpretation of the scriptures. Now the members of each individual church will likely feel they are following the right or true way, and hey, maybe there are. It is not for me to say one way or the other.

I am a Christian and yet I question when Christianity proclaims itself to be the one and only way to get to heaven. I believe all churches are good (exclude a few wacked out cults calling themselves churches) teaching and helping people to live good lives. So many churches leading you on a slightly different path to heaven, to me that can only say there is more than one path leading to the Pearly Gates. I believe in a very loving God. A God that loves all of his children, being every single person on the earth. I love my daughters with all of my heart but I know my love for them is minute compared to that which God has for us his children. I am certainly not trying to compare myself to God, but I think of myself as a father. If my daughters are coming home for a visit, do you think I really care which route they are taking to get here, as long as it is a safe and I can hope an enjoyable one.

For me the words “GOOD LIVES” say it all. The lives we live are our pathway to Heaven. I just can not fathom anyone that has lived a good life being turned away from Heaven’s Door. Does it even make sense that the Loving Father would turn away a child from his door simply because the child didn’t travel one particular route to get there? I just can’t even begin to imagine that.

Another Bill stat, about 75% of the world’s population are non Christian. There are as we all know many other faiths in the world. As far as I know, all with just a few exceptions are working to help all live, good, loving  and productive lives. Huh, in general terms doesn’t that sound a lot like Christianity. Helping people live good lives, doing the best they can on a daily basis. How can this be a bad thing? It can’t as far as I can see. If all of the other great Faiths of the world are then good things, couldn’t they possibly lead to Heaven? I think so.

When I get to Heaven I know it will be full of people of every race, color and religion, no exceptions.

Now I don’t even have a Bill stat for this one. But there are a lot of people that aren’t actually practicing any form of religion or faith. Good people, living good lives but have let faith or worship fall by the wayside. Will they be welcome at Heaven’s Door, of course they will. I believe they will be just as welcome, children coming home that chose just a little more difficult route to travel in getting there.

If there is any “judging” to be done I believe it will be done on the love contained within your heart.

6 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Path to Heaven

  1. Richmond says:

    I am a nurse, the more I get to know the intricacies of the human body, the subtle ways it helps itself to get rid of its diseases and survive I am compelled to say that a DIVINE FORCE really exists.

    The simplest unit of an organism is the cell… yet can we really say that it is simple? Surely, the complicated sequence of amino acids, carbon, water and air all doing their part to create a single living cell did not come about by chance… I believe we were not created. WE WERE DESIGNED.

    Hi Richmond, welcome to my site and I thank you for the comment. I so agree with you, we were DESIGNED. Our human bodies a heavenly creation as is every other thing on this earth.
    Hope to hear from you again.
    Bill

  2. Richmond says:

    Yey, I was the first one to comment.

    Right on buddy.

  3. Mel says:

    Yeah, Richmond!!!!!!

    Dunno who’s ‘right’, dunno there IS a right in this one, Bill.
    I do know that it took me a lot to look at the resentment I had with the Big Guy….and to surrender that one in order to have the relationship that I have with Him today. I’m pretty clear that good deeds don’t get me into ‘G-d’s good graces’ and that as a child of His, my worth and value just IS. I have nothing to prove.
    Just like with my own kiddos–they’ve nothing to prove….nothing is going to change my love for them. It’s unconditional.
    Have they done somethings that make me sad as well as proud–yup……….doesn’t change my love for them at all. No more, no less.
    I don’t do that perfectly…..I’m not G-d– There are times I wished I could love perfectly. But alas…..I get to be human….as designed…..

    I walked without faith.
    I was allowed to scramble willy-nilly down my own path–but I was never alone….never uncared for……always watched over.
    I’m sure it made Him sad…..but I KNOW it didn’t make Him love me less.

    I survived without that relationship.
    I prefer to LIVE… with it.

    k…..I think I just rambled…..LOL

    Christianity makes up 32% of the world’s religions, today. (not a Mel statistic–looked it up…LOL) You weren’t too far off.

    Mel, my dear friend you have said it all right here so perfectly. You are correct when you say who knows, what is truly right in all of this. I echo your thoughts, my love for my children is unconditional. Yes, they could hurt or disappoint me, but never cause me to stop loving them. That is how I feel is God’s love for all of us.
    I think most of us or at least I have at times tried to flounder my way through life on my own. Yes, I made it through the issues of the day on my own. I just look back now and see how much easier it could have been. I know I was never alone, but at times it did feel like it, because of the way I was acting.
    Memory guy here will have to try and store away the real stat on this one. Bill stats have been know to at times be a little off. lol

  4. Mel says:

    Oh……and rest, please?

    Not to worry my friend, I am getting my rest. I woke up this morning at about 7:30 and realized I had slept away almost 19 of the past 24 hours. I was up occasionally for a call of nature but right back to sleep and I so feel so much more rested today.

  5. Juanita says:

    I am one of the NON-STATS, it is nice to know you are too. In believe very much, the way the you do about a divine power. I have seen many proofs of that in my life. Thank you once again, for your wisdom.

    Hi Juanita, it is nice to hear from you. I absolutely do believe in God, it is the churches that I struggle with. I would be very interested in learning more about the proofs that you have seen. I am also hoping for a response to my email.
    Take good care of yourself my friend
    Bill

  6. ceeque says:

    I struggle greatly with “organised religions” … they are “organised” by men and women who frankly, have an “agenda” and do not seem to impart a message til they have “coloured” it to their own way of thinking …
    I was brought up Roman Catholic and frankly, wish I was`nt! The fear they used to impose was simply ludicrous! I consider myself spiritual if such a term HAS to be used, though I hate the “classification” that we seem to have to use in everything also! I find it irrelevant to know someone`s belief system, it counts for very little to me. The person`s conscience is the most important. 🙂

Leave a Reply

