Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Jumping to Conclusions


Had a nip of the flu bug or something but am back to normal, what ever that is for me.

Had an exciting day yesterday. I am sure a lot of my neighbors had surprised looks on their faces as they saw me climbing all over another neighbors roof. What in the world could prompt me to be up on a neighbors roof.

A short while ago I posted a request for all to do random acts of kindness. Acts of kindness to anyone, the who didn’t matter even the what it was didn’t matter. All that mattered was that we all go out of our way to perform one extra act of kindness. I am so grateful to those that wrote in telling of their individual acts of kindness done in honor of Billie’s birthday. I thank each and ever one with all of my heart.

Both of my daughters, bless their hearts, keep me on my toes. Billie asked me what my act of kindness was going to be. I wrote of our dear neighbor Elsie. Elsie is a wonderful lady, well into her 80’s. With the wisdom of her years also comes a difficulty in hearing and at times seeing. Elsie was widowed a few years back. Her husband John had taken care of all business matters. Anyway, Elsie’s roof was damaged in a storm and the insurance company was paying to have the shingles all replaced. The work was done approx. 2 months ago. Lets just say the quality of the work was questionable and very sloppy to say the least. Elsie was extremely unhappy with the job. In spite of her advanced years she is a very independent lady. She was unhappy with the job and she was going to get it fixed declining any offers of help. Speaking with her occasionally over the fence it was obvious she was getting more and more upset but still declining offers of help. Matters came to a head a few days ago, when I learned it had reached the point for her that she wasn’t sleeping or eating she was so upset about this whole thing and just didn’t know what to do anymore.

So I did what I should have done weeks ago. I stepped in and told her to just give me all of her records etc. and that I would deal with it. I was appalled to hear that in addition to the sloppy work she had been presented with an extra bill by the contractor above and beyond what the insurance was paying. Elsie was upset and generally confused about the whole situation and couldn’t really explain to me or even find this extra bill. What is this all about? Poor Elsie just doesn’t know what is going on, “they must be taking advantage of me because I am on old lady.” Based on everything she was telling me that really got my hackles up. I am going to deal with these SOB’s, no one is going to take advantage of our dear Elsie. Which from what I heard from Elsie that definitely appeared to be happening.

First off I checked with the Better Business Bureau, let’s see what sort of company we are dealing with here. Hmm, in business since 1974 with a perfect record, no complaints, a good solid company. That is strange, I was expecting to find it was a fly by night bunch of crooks, obviously not the case. So what is going on here?

Time to phone the company itself, I mean Elsie has phoned them repeatedly and is getting no where, I want an explanation! Quickly got through to Randy the man in charge of roofing installation. It soon became obvious he was caught off guard, having no idea there was an issue of any sort. He readily agreed to come out and inspect the job, which we did yesterday. He was the guy up on the roof with me. He was very nice and obviously concerned about poor Elsie and how she was so worked up. He apologized to her for causing her concern, but stated he couldn’t deal with any problem if he didn’t even know there was one. Fair enough, but what about all of Elsie’s phone calls to the company. It turns out our Elsie initially didn’t know who to phone so at the start she phoned no one, just fretted and got herself all worked up. It was only after she got the additional invoice that she had a name and number to call. There she did call but as it turns out only to complain about the extra amount being charged. She was all worked up thinking she is stuck with the roof as it is and was determined not to pay anymore. So what was this additional bill. It turns out Elsie decided to upgrade the quality of the shingles above what the insurance company was paying. Naturally, she had to pay the difference in cost to accommodate the upgrade and that is fair enough.

To make a long story at least a little shorter, Elsie is getting another brand new roof, everything will be redone completely. Work is scheduled to start in about 2 weeks, no cost to Elsie. She is one very relieved and happy lady, said last night she would finally be able to sleep, her mind at rest.

What did I learn from all of this? Don’t jump to conclusions, there are 2 sides to every story. To try and make sense of any situation you really do have to know both sides. When we really got into it there was a real legitimate and understandable explanation for everything that had happen on both sides. How many problems are there in this world that couldn’t be solved with just a little more dialogue. Listen to both sides before jumping to conclusions.

I never thought I would be posting any sort of endorsement for any businesses, but, sometime a guy has got to do what a guy feels is right. Randy and Sarna Roofing, I salute you and extend a big bouquet to you. Randy, you said your aim was to ensure customer satisfaction, you came through and proved that to be the case. It was a pleasure dealing with you. Elsie thanks you and I thank you. Next time I need my roof done I will be calling you. Adding this next statement as an after thought. Neither Elsie nor I are receiving an sort of consideration for my last comment, it is indeed straight from me.

Will be gone for a few days. Heading out of town but will be back on Monday. Have a good weekend.

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Jumping to Conclusions

  1. Jo Hart says:

    God Bless you Bill. What a great lesson you have shared. I’m the first to jump to conclusions, have a big mouth which ends up biting me in the butt later, when the whole story comes out. You would think I would have learnt this already. Nicely put Bill. Bless to Elsie, she reminds me of my dear grandma, it just makes you want to wrap them up in cotton wool.

  2. Simonne says:

    Hi my lovely friend. This is a great story. What a wonderful thing you did. I hope all is well with you Bill.
    Sx

  3. Kay says:

    Giant Giant ((HUGS))

Leave a Reply

