Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Loss of a child


I came to the computer this morning and checked on the stats page, who had visited from other sites. I saw an unfamiliar name and so clicked on it to see who it was that visited.

This site hit me like a ton of bricks. There are only 4 or 5 postings which are mostly pictures so it didn’t take long to go through the blog start to finish. This site just emotionally overwhelmed me. It is to the point I have spent the past 2 hours or so just wandering around the house unable to really do anything but seemingly feel pain and grief, great sadness. It just sort of makes you want to cry, but hey, Howdle men don’t cry.

I am not going to post the web site address as there is a comment stating it was set up for family and friends and I don’t want to intrude on their privacy.

The site is there to keep family and friends posted on the medical progress of a young man named Jace. Jace was born prematurely at 24 weeks weighing only one pound. Site begins with a request for prayers and showing pictures of the young man in an incubator obviously in an intensive care unit of a hospital somewhere. Pictures of this wee tiny young man are both beautiful and heart breaking at the same time. You know he is fighting so hard for life.

Sadly, the wee lad lost his battle and I believe it was the very next post that showed pictures of him in his coffin. That just tore my heart to pieces. I just can’t even begin to imagine the pain being felt by the parents and family. They are in my prayers and I hope in the prayers of any that may read this.

It is times such as this that it might be question, why would our loving God allow such a thing to happen to some one so young and helpless. I need to seek the solace of my meditation chair to regain some semblance of composure, as I do seem to be overwhelmed by this so sad event.

I know I have written before on how I believe when we enter this world we come both with lessons to learn and with a mission or maybe missions given to us by God. Who is to know what your individual mission(s) is. It is to in someway act as a teacher and in some way have a positive affect the lives of someone else as they learn their lessons in life. Once we have accomplished our mission the Good Lord calls us home. This is the only thing that makes any sense to me on the death of a young child.

It might be asked what sort of a mission could someone so young have accomplished? Whose life could he have affect in anyway other than by the pain and sense of loss being felt by the family? Who is to know? I offer myself as but one example. Jace, through your young and far to short life you have affected me, a total stranger. Sometimes there are things we know in our minds, but somehow allow that knowledge to get pushed into the background somewhere. It is not forgotten, more just taken for granted. How fragile and so short life can be and the importance of taking nothing and no one for granted. Take time to appreciate my life and all those in it. May God bless you.

To Jace’s parents and family, I think it was an extremely courageous thing you have done by posting the pictures as you did. Sharing your grief, allowing others to grieve with you and creating an ever lasting memorial for this brave young man. My prayers are for you and with you.

2 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Loss of a child

  1. Jo Hart says:

    As a mum of a premmy baby, I can relate to the anguish. We were one of the lucky ones that our baby survived. Throughout the months in hospital though, we went through the pain with each parent, and it was heart breaking when one of the most beautiful little angels passed away. My heart goes out to Jace’s parents & family. Like Bill, I am unsure as to what Jace was here to teach, but I am positive that he will remain an angel within your family. My prayers & condolences to all.

  2. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    I, too, had premmy twins. We’ve never prayed so hard to have them survive. And they did, but not quite as we would have hoped. They both had brain damage and so they are in wheelchair, and both have a host of mental challenges and both are basically non-communicative. But, that’s OK because even though they will remain chilren forever, they have taught us more than anyone else has ever done. And even Jace (Bless his tiny soul!) has done much (perhaps even more than most adults) in the time that he was alive. Look at how he has brought compassion, sympathy, empathy and a willingness to help someone other than ourselves…He’s done more than most world leaders!! He and his family will certainly be in my prayers and I’ll be looking for him when I get to heaven.
    Thanks for sharing this with us, Wiseman.
    Irene

Leave a Reply

