Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Thank You from Billie


My Dad is very kindly letting me kidnap his blog for a quick note of thanks to those of you who helped to fulfill my Dad’s request for my birthday:

Thank you for the birthday wishes ceeque, mymarriedlife, and mspennylane, it means so much to me for you to have taken the time to think of me on my birthday!

Laure – someone who can see opportunities for kindness without any prompting is a very special person indeed!!  Thank you!!

Mel – I have been watching all of the news coverage regarding the flood.  It looks just devastating!  So very reminiscent of Katrina!!  It sounds from your post as though you have made it through relatively unscathed.  For this I am very grateful.  Thanks so much for thinking of me in this very tumultuous time!!

Irene – being almost 6 months pregnant with my second child I am enormous and have a hard time picking stuff up off the floor (at least this is my excuse for the current condition of my house!!).  Consequently, I can especially appreciate the help you gave your colleague.  Pregnant or not, help in packing is always a good thing!!  Thanks!!

Colouredmind (a.k.a. Hannah) – a number of years ago I was on my way home from work and a woman that lived on the street outside of my building stopped me and asked if she could have $2 to buy herself a sandwich for dinner.  She had been there for months and had never once asked me for anything despite the fact that I had passed her almost every day.  Instead of giving her the $2 I took her into the local coffee/sandwich shop and bought her dinner, which turned out to be a bowl of soup, two sandwiches and a cup of coffee.  We had dinner together and she told me about how she usually just felt like part of the landscape.  She said that some people noticed her but tried to ignore her but the majority seemed to be oblivious to the fact that she was even there.  We had a very nice time together.  The next day she stopped me again, not to ask for more money but to tell me how much my stopping had meant to her.  Not even a week later she was gone from her spot and I never saw her again and I have often wondered whatever happened to her.  I’m sure that it meant the world to those two men for you to stop give them a kind “hello”, a cup of tea, and to notice that they weren’t just part of the landscape!!  Thanks!!

Jo Hart – your posts on my dad’s blog over the past number of months have shown you to be a very kind and generous person.  What you have done for those children on my behalf only exemplifies that fact!!  Thank you!!

Grateful, humbled, honoured, and blessed are only a few words that cannot begin to describe how you have all made me feel.  I’m sure we’ll never know the true impact that these acts of kindness will have on their recipients and the ripple effect it may cause.  However, the generosity you have shown to others on my behalf is awe-inspiring and will never, ever be forgotten. Thank you so much for the part you have taken in making my 30th birthday so wonderful and memorable!!!!

~ Billie ~

5 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Thank You from Billie

  1. Jo Hart says:

    Billie, The pleasure is all ours. If it wasn’t for your dad’s blog, I probably would not have gotten of my butt and done it. Thanks to your dad for making us all much better people. I read your post about your question to your dad, I do have one thing to add, that probably Bill hasn’t even thought of. Each post that he makes on this blog I would count for his random act of kindness. I say that, because, he has opened my mind to a lot clearer thinking about life in general, the way I treat people, Respect, Honesty etc. Because of that, it makes me feel like a better person, who in turn resiprocates to other people, so it’s like a ripple effect. I don’t think your dad truely understands what a profound impact he has had on alot of our lives. I found your dad’s site whilst trying to find some answers for my cousin while he was dying. I’m not a religous person, but more spiritual, but it was such a blessing to come across this site. Your dad is apart of my daily routine, and it doesn’t feel right if I haven’t had the chat each day. It is said with enourmous respect for your family, for allowing your dad to take us all in and made to feel part of all of your life & celebrate your birthday. Bill is a treasured friend, who I shall probably never meet, but feel very priveledged to know. I’m so glad you had a great birthday.

  2. Mel says:

    k…….

    Made me get all kindsa weepy.

    ((((((((((((( Billie ))))))))))))))

    Obviously someone helped with that wonderful foundation that you have–and I’m proud to know the fella. Even if just through this medium–he’s done great things for so many……I stand in awe of the lives he touches, completely unaware….
    And you……you do yourself proud.

    Thank you for the gift you gave all of us here, today.
    Dunno that you know how you touched lives with this post–but trust me when I say you did.

    ((((((((((((((( Billie )))))))))))))))))))

    MANY more happy ones!
    ……and thank you…….truly…….

  3. Irene says:

    Dear Billie,
    I’ve always said that your dad is one of the luckiest guys around. Most of us go through this whole thing called life without really knowing what our destiny and our legacy is. But Bill, even though his days may be numbered, has figured it out. Isn’t it all incredibly ironic??? He may have thought that he was going to help people with their finances, by being a really good banker. But, God had other plans. Bill now helps us invest in life and the full living of it. Wow! I’m a better person for just being in contact with him. He’s a Wiseman…
    Irene

  4. Bill Howdle says:

    Billie, as always you have made me proud. I am so proud of the wonderful lady you have grown to be. Irene was right on when she said I am a lucky man, lucky to have you and Shauna in my life. Love you always.
    Dad
    PS. you are welcome to “kidnap” the blog anytime you like.

  5. ceeque says:

    ripples everywhere …. from small things, big things grow… Thanks Billie, Thanks Bill! 🙂

Leave a Reply

