Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Prayer request – Amy


I received a comment that touched me so very deeply. I responded to it here on the blog but also via email.

It is a love filled and heart wrenching message from Amy. Amy writes of the pending passing of her uncle. I ask all please for prayers for Amy, her uncle and entire family.

Amy’s message is so heartfelt I can feel her pain through her words. I ask for the prayers please, but also for everyone to take a moment to think of their own lives. It is so easy to get wrapped up in the daily events, the daily issues or problems that we can seemingly become overwhelmed. We loose sight of the big picture, of what really is important. If we think of this, suddenly our individual daily issues we are so wrapped up in, seem to become pretty trivial. Maybe we can get our priorities straight. Here is Amy’s comment:

Dear Bill,
I am sorry for what you and your family are going through and pray that God gives you the strength to face whatever troubles you have.
I came on here looking for words to help my Uncle. I found out exactly 2 weeks ago tomorrow that he only has a few weeks to live. He has liver cancer.
The day I found out, I cried, as he is the closest relative to be passing after my Grandparents. He is just a great Uncle and great person period.
He was just given the news he was dying on that day, so I had to see him and wondered what I could get that might be of some little help.
I stopped at a Walgreens because I know they have some inspirational books there.
I picked up a few, skimmed through the pages and came across a book called “God’s Promises” by Max Lucado. He is an excellent inspirational author.
Anyway, I’m going through the pages and came across one that said, “Saying Goodbye” It gave examples of people going off to war saying goodbye, people saying goodbye at airports and goodbyes before death. But on that page it asked Why does God give us Families if we just have to say goodbye? The answer –Because he knows that Eternity is so close that Goodbye really means I’ll see you tomorrow. I got goosebumps when I read that and that is what I picked up for him. It had a ribbon that I could mark that page for him too.
I left the store and was crying but knew I had to try to get some composure if I was going to stop up at the hospital to see my Uncle.
I got in the car and through tears, wrote these words to him.
Dear Uncle Edmund,
When I count life’s blessings I have always considered you one of them.
I know that God has held your hand in your Journey through Life. I hope he now holds your hand a little tighter and, if needed, carries you in his arms to Heaven.
Love always,
Amy
PS If there are any lakes in Heaven I know where you’ll be.
(One of his greatest loves is fishing, so I had to throw that in)

I did fine up in the hospital and kept my composure. I did not give him the book until right before I left. My Aunt and him really liked it.

I talked to my cousin today and she said
he is going downhill fast. He has no control over going to the bathroom and he could at least do that 2 weeks ago.

She said she is having a hard time saying goodbye, and that she knows she will regret it later if she doesn’t. I told her she didn’t have to use the word goodbye. She could
just tell him she loves him and will someday see him in Heaven. It somehow doesn’t seem as harsh and it is true, God willing.

I am going to bookmark this site and again I will pray for you and your family. God works in mysterious ways, just look at what you are able to do with this website and how many lives you are touching.
Wonderful.
God’s blessings to you,
Amy

Follow up to my post, I just received an email from Amy, her uncle has passed. Prayers for all please

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Prayer request – Amy

  1. Jo Hart says:

    Hi Bill,
    I seen Amy’s comments the other day and I couldn’t believe what a strong individual she is. Her comments were amazing. I kinda wish I was thinking like that when our Terry passed away. I love the idea of it’s not goodbye, just see you later. I just love that. It’s amazing, just saying that even makes you feel good.
    Amy – My thoughts and prayers to you and your family at this very sad time. When your Aunty allows, she will grieve, and I am sure that when that time comes, you will be there with open arms to help her through it. When my cousin Terry passed last year, we said to that he’d be up there looking for the good lakes and fishing away. (That was his love), so I sent a little prayer to him to show your Uncle the good spots !! They will always be with us in spirit – and when you are a little down, always remember there are beautiful memories to reunite you.

  2. Pia says:

    What a beautiful post, Bill. I’ll be praying for Amy and her family. Although the suddenness of it all must have been devastating, at least they had time enough to be able to say goodbye to him, in whatever form.

  3. I have been writing poetry to express my feelings for years. When dealing with the death of a loved one I write a poem, when dealing with other issues in life I write poetry to express myself through those times also. My prayers are with you.

    PEACE FROM GOD DURING SORROW
    a poem for peace during sorrow and grief by Carrie Neighbors

    Above the howling wind there is calmness to the air
    Stilling the storms of sin Our prince is standing there!

    Giving peace and rest to the troubled mind
    For within Jesus Peace is what you’ll find!

    In the midst of the storm and all our discontent
    Our prince of peace will come As a gift that’s heaven sent.

    For peace is not the absence of pain
    But in the storms of life, Gods love shall sustain!

    When loved ones die and leave the world behind
    Billows of love from heaven is truly what you’ll find

    Peace, peace sent unto a broken heart to mend
    In sorrows chilling storm, a gift of peace he’ll send

    Tragedy turns to triumph, sorrows into song
    Peace shall come to the weeping in the reality of wrong

    Grasping for words transforming, inadequate to define
    Peace beyond all understanding, forever yours and mine!

    LUKE 1:79
    shine on those living in darkness and in the shadow of death,
    to guide our feet into the path of peace.”

  4. Mel says:

    *HUGE hugs*

    Sending love and prayers and warm, peacefilled thoughts.

    What a loving gal……..and what a beautiful reunion it will be…….

Leave a Reply

