Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Happy Birthday Billie/acts of kindness request


If I were asked directly, what have I done to make this world a better place. I would hum and haa and finally have to admit really nothing. But, really that is wrong. The world is truly a better place because of my 2 daughters, Billie and Shauna. I am lucky enough to be able to claim at least some of the credit for bringing them into this world. Through them I have done something to make this world a better place.

Well today is a special day. It is Billie’s birthday. I am flat out asking any one and everyone that may read this to give her a birthday present to join with us in celebrating her turning 30.

What would be the very best present you could possibly give to her. Perform a small random act of kindness for some one, for anyone. Every single act of kindness does indeed make this world a little bit better. How much better, who is to ever know. A single act of kindness can cause a ripple effect and who is to know how far or how wide that ripple will spread. OK, let’s face it will a simple small act of kindness you your part bring about world peace or anything like that, not likely but who can know. But, it is enough to know with every act of kindness the world is in fact a little bit better.

In the past on several occasions I have asked for anonymous random acts of kindness be preformed. Anonymous because it is then done with no expectation of reward or recognition of any kind. It is instead done from the beauty and love contained with in our hearts. It is an act of kindness done not because I had to or because I was expected to. It is done simply because i wanted to help another, prompted only by the love and goodness contained within my heart. If a single act of kindness makes the world a little better, think about how much better it can be if we all join together, each doing their own little part.

Back at the top of this post you will see a separate page I have set up called “Spirit within Me”. Within that posting, I am asking all to commit to 5 minutes a week to specifically look for an act of kindness to perform for another. Now think about it, I don’t care how busy you are, no one is so busy that can’t squeeze in 5 minutes a week. Hey, 5 minutes a day would be preferable but 5 minutes a week is a start.

OK, to Billie’s birthday present. I am asking the acts of kindness remain anonymous to who ever it is you are doing it. But, I am asking please leave me a comment here, telling me what is was you did. By doing so you are not seeking glory or praise but instead sharing ideas with others about things maybe they can do going forward. Plus I know Billie will be thrilled at the thought of kindness being done in her name or for her birthday.

I ask fellow bloggers to make mention of this. Let’s get the world just over flowing with kindness.

Happy Birthday Billie, I love you.

9 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Happy Birthday Billie/acts of kindness request

  1. ceeque says:

    Hi Bill, am pretty much back “in the fold” as it were again! Lol!
    Happy Birthday to Billie and your “challenge” does not go unanswered!…

    Charles it is so nice to see you back, have missed hearing from you.

  2. Laure says:

    Hello! What a fantastic coincedence . . . my son, Joshua, turned 28 today! So i lift my glass to both of these young persons . . . Happy Birthday Joshua and Billie! Your request is a beautiful one. Today, even before visiting here, an opportunity presented itself although it was not anonymous. Those involved were shocked.

    Hi Laure, thank you for stopping by and welcome to my site. Belated happy birthday to Joshua. I thank you so much for the act of kindness you performed, Billie and I both appreciate as I am sure do those that were on the receiving end of your act. Please keep it up
    Bill

  3. Sage's mommy says:

    Thanks Dad, I love you too!

    Billie, love you lots, always have and always will
    Dad

  4. mymarriedlife says:

    happy birthday Billie!! Bill just wanted to send you a thank you for visiting my blog. You need to view my husband’s blog. secondchanceatlife@wordpress.com Thanks again

    Hi and welcome, I thank you for the wishes. I will be over to visit your husband’s site.
    Hope you call again
    Bill

  5. mspennylane says:

    Happy birthday and what a lovely present! (I really want to start incorporating these random acts of kindness into my everyday life – I’ll see how it goes :))

    Hi mspennylane, I thank you for the visit and the good wishes. I wish you well in incorporating the acts into your everyday life. I think if we all tried it would become like forming a good habit. One that doesn’t always have to take a lot of effort but one that will make things better.
    Please keep in touch to let me know how you are doing.
    Bill

  6. Mel says:

    <– packed up boxes of kitchen ‘stuff’ for a family that’s the victim of the flood and have it in the car to deliver tomorrow

    But! In honour of Billie–there are flood clean-up tubs that are premade for the donation. I’ll make the donation in her name tomorrow.

    *sigh*
    It’s such a mess over here–and I can’t think of a more loving thing to do at this moment.

    Happy Birthday to Billie!
    And what a special gift you brought to the world, Bill…..and continue to bring…
    And I ain’t just talking the kiddos, either.

    *hugs!*

    Mel, my dear friend I thank you so very much. Your big, generous and loving heart always shines through. I am sorry I have been off line for a few days or I would have acknowledged your gesture much sooner. Please watch for a post coming in the next day or so.
    Thanks again.
    Bill

  7. Jo Hart says:

    Happy Birthday Billie…………. Hope you have a fantastic time.
    In honour of your birthday I will do a random act, but I will have to post it tomorrow, as stuck at work at present…. I will keep you posted on what I have done.

    Bill, the wedding sounded fantastic, Would of loved to be a fly on the wall when you where tripping the light fantastic with those dancin’ feet of yours…….

    Hi Jo, I am behind in my replying to comments and have left a big thank you on your next comment. It is wonderful what you did, I thank you so much. Please watch for a post in the next day or so.
    Hey, if you could have been here it wouldn’t have been as a fly on the wall, I would have had you sitting at my table. I’ll tell you I really had the feet a flying.
    Take care my friend
    Bill

  8. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Just have a few minutes to drop you a line to say Hi! and to wish Billie a great, big Happy Birthday. My random act was to help a collegue pack away her classroom at the end of the year. That felt really good and it was done in honor of the birthday girl…Thinking about you often, Wiseman.
    Irene

    Irene, your kind heart is showing through again. You felt it, it does feel good to do something to help another, just because we want to. I thank you so much
    Bill

  9. colouredmind says:

    What a wonderful idea. In honour of the birthday girl when I saw two cold homeless men today in my very small town I bought two take out cups of tea and gave it to them, they looked so pleased to have something warm to drink. I think this is something I am going to try and do more often. Hannah x

Leave a Reply

