Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Great Wedding/weekend


This past weekend was a wonderful time. We had company arriving through out last week all in preparation for the wedding on Saturday.

Festivities began on Friday afternoon. Families from both sides (bride and groom) plus the wedding party gathered in our back yard for a BBQ prior to the wedding party rushing off to the wedding rehearsal. There must have 30-35 people if not more. There was a master BBQ’er standing (lol) at the grill or at least no one that I know of got food poisoning or anything of the sort. My brother Eric arrived with a huge potato salad, which together with the salads etc. that Vi had prepared made for a great meal. I love that pasta/manderine orange salad. Lets just say a quantity of beer was consumed.

Saturday arrived, the wedding day. It was beautiful, sunny and hot. Well hot by our Manitoba standards. Bride was gorgeous, brides maids all beautiful, groom. best , man and ushers all very handsome and damper in their tuxedos. Ceremony was beautiful, I am told. Very close to the beginning of the ceremony 18 month old Seth, also very handsome and dapper in his tuxedo, decided he didn’t want to stay inside and was very vocal about telling the entire church about it. As I am the step grandpa or poppa as he calls me, I picked him up and carried him outside. The Church as it turns out has a beautiful little park beside it. Seth and poppa had a great time playing in it. Turns out the service was much shorter than I had expected. I thought we had only played for a few minutes, but time does seem to fly by when you are having fun. When I picked him up to go back inside everything was just ending. The priest was just introducing Mr. and Mrs. Zahayko to those in attendance. Everyone tells me the service was beautiful and I am kind of sorry I missed it, but hey if I had to do it all over I would still chose playing with Seth, he is such a sweet little guy.

It is at this point in the post I had planned to put in a picture of the bride and groom. Well an interesting thing happened. I gave the camera to my daughter Shauna to snap a few pics and memory guy here forgot to get it back. So my camera is now out of town. A picture of the bride and groom will be going up soon.

I have heard it said it is good luck to have it rain on your wedding day. Well I hope so. Right after the service the wedding party and family went to the Manitoba Legislature building to have some pictures taken. It is a beautiful spot to which many wedding parties go for pictures. The beautiful sunny day changed within a matter of minutes. Wedding party was just getting out of the limo for the pictures and the rain started and lasted for approx. 1 1/2 hours the time alloted for the pictures with the photographer. What can you do but make do with what you have. Thankfully there is an overhang atop the steps of the legislature and pictures were taken there.

A reception followed, the meal was great and the dance enjoyed by all. Rumor has it that a heavy set bald guy even got dragged up on the dance floor and really showed his stuff. Well at least showed his stuff at the beginning of each song but seemed to really slow down as the song continued. That same rumor contends that after each song he retreated to a chair to huff and puff for several minutes.

A big congratulations to Lynelle and Jason. “May the very best day in your past be not nearly as good as the worst day in your future”.

2 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Great Wedding/weekend

  1. Mel says:

    Awwwwwwww…..what better celebration of the union than the gift of a peaceful ceremony! LOL
    Way to go poppa! (Much like the kiddo, I’da wanted to be playing…….I don’t sit still well!)

    Mazel Tov!
    Blessings for the newlyweds!

    And gosh….what gorgeous gal and guy at the end of the post.

    BTW…..I had no difficulties imaginin’ Boogeying Bill! 😉

    Hi Mel, Boogeying Bill, I like that. Lets just say I do try and leave it at that. Poppa had a great time playing with Seth.
    I thank you for the good wishes to the newly weds.
    Bill

  2. Linda says:

    Hi Bill,

    This is a lovely website that you have … and the info posted is very helpful to those who need some support in a difficult time … however, I am not comfortable with my children faces (and names) being posted on your website for all to see. I will ask that you please remove their photos and have Rob ask me next time before they are posted.

Leave a Reply

