Dying Man’s Daily Journal _ Happy Mother’s Day


Happy mother’s day to all the wonderful mothers out there.

I found something I want to share on the true strength and love of a mother.

Mean Moms

All moms are mean for a reason. As we grow into adults we know why our mom’s were mean.

Someday when my children are old enough to understand the logic that motivates a parent, I will tell them:

I loved you enough…- to ask where you were going, with whom, and what time you would be home.

I loved you enough…- to insist that you save your money and buy a bike for yourself even though we could afford to buy one for you.

I loved you enough…- to be silent and let you discover that your new best friend was a creep.

I loved you enough…- to make you pay for the bubble gum you had taken and tell the clerk, “I stole this yesterday and want to pay for it”

I loved you enough…- to stand over you for two hours while you cleaned your room, a job that should have taken 15 minutes.

I loved you enough…- to let you see anger, fear, sadness disappointment, and tears in my eyes. Children must learn that their parents aren’t perfect.

I loved you enough …- to let you assume the responsibility for your actions even when the penalties were so harsh they almost broke my heart.

I love you enough…- to set clear limits on what you can expect of me and of others

I love you enough…- to be a parent and not a friend

But most of all, I loved you enough…- to say NO when I knew you would hate me for it. Those were the most difficult battles of all. I’m glad I won them because in the end you won, too And someday when your children are old enough to understand the logic that motivates parents, you will tell them…

Was your Mom mean? I know mine was. We had the meanest mother in the whole world!

While other kids ate candy for breakfast, we had to have cereal, eggs, and toast. When others had a Pepsi and a cookie for lunch, we had to eat sandwiches. And you can guess our mother fixed us a dinner that was different from what other kids had, too.

Mother insisted on knowing where we were at all times. You’d think we were convicts in prison. She had to know who our friends were, and what we were doing with them. She insisted that if we said we would be gone for an hour, we would have to be gone for an hour or less.

We were ashamed to admit it, but she had the nerve to break the Child labor Laws by making us work. We had to wash the dishes make the beds, learn to cook, vacuum the floor, do laundry, empty the garbage all sort of cruel jobs. I think she would like awake at night thinking of more things for us to do.

She always insisted on us telling the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. By the time we were teenagers she could read our minds.

Then, life was really tough! Mother wouldn’t let our friend’s just honk the horn when they drove up. They had to come to the door so she could meet them.

Because of our mother we missed out on lots of things other kids experienced. None of us have ever been caught shoplifting, vandalizing others property or ever arrested for any crime. It was all her fault.

Now that we have left home, we all are educated, honest adults. We are doing our best to be mean parents just like Mom was. I think that is what’s wrong with the world today. It just doesn’t have enough mean moms.

5 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal _ Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Jo Hart says:

    What a great Mothers Day I have had. There’s a rule in my house that Mother’s day and Father’s Day are not about going out and buying expensive gifts, It’s about what the kids make at school, Mother’s day stall from school etc.

    Well I was woken with a cold milky cuppa, cold toast that was buttered only in the middle with a bucket load of vegimite, a pot plant and a tea towel from the school fate, Olivia saved her pocket money and bought me a “Gypsy Necklace” and I got two hand made cards that one says “Your my Hero” and the other says “My Spuchel Mummy” !!!!

    What more can I ask for, I’m the richest woman in the world, and “Spuchel” too.

    Wishing all the mothers as rich a mother’s day as I have just had……

    Ah Jo, it all sounds so wonderful, You really are a “spuchel” mum. Glad you had a nice day.
    Bill

  2. Thanks Bill, lovely words on a lovely day.
    M

    Thank you Martha, I hope you are having a wonderful day. Happy Mother’s Day to you.
    Bill

  3. Mel says:

    Well then, I musta did an ‘okay’ job… The girl reminded me on a regular basis that I was a ‘mean mom with stupid rules’.
    Bless her ‘responsible young adult’ heart.

    Happy Mom’s Day to you and Vi, Bill!

    Mel, Happy Mother’s Day. I am sure you did a wonderful job with the kids and like Jo are a “spuchel” mum.

  4. Mel says:

    (((((((((((((((( Jo ))))))))))))))))))))))

    Happy Mom’s Day, ma’am!

  5. venus00 says:

    Thanks for the post Bill. Being a mom you often wonder if you are making the right choices. I HATE being the meanie but that post made me feel much better. 🙂 I hope Vi had a wonderful Mother’s Day! I know I did. I was surprised with a pink and black fishing rod and tackle box , Pink fishing hat and assorted neon colored bobbers and a promise that as soon as it warms up they will take me fishing! I haven’t fished since I was a little girl but mentioned that I missed it, They are so thoughtful!

    Hi Venus, I am glad you had a special day. I love fishing, please let me know what you catch.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

