Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Recovered Post of Feb. 26/08


Feb 26, 2008 1:34 PM

Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Next Generations

from Dying mans daily journal by Bill Howdle
Health wise I am feeling very good just seem to be extra tired this past while. I just need to throw in a couple of extra power naps to really be back on track.

As always I have a lot of time to think. My thoughts have been wandering way back to when I was in my early years, back when I was in school. I suppose it is just natural that with time the memory fades. My memory has a little help in the fading department. I actually have few memories from back then but the ones that I do are crystal clear. I suppose they were more meaningful to me. Basically, my bothers, my friends and I were pretty good kids. I think back to that time and wonder, how did the parents of the day view us and kids in general. I am speaking in very general terms as in parents collectively and kids as collectively being the next generation and not in individual families. I can’t help but think that through out history each successive general in its turn has looked at the new generation coming up behind them and just shook their heads in dismay wondering, what is this world coming to?

In my comment naturally I am excluding my own 2 daughters as I am sure most parents will. After all my daughters are wonderful and are making this world a better place just by them being here. Overall though I find myself in the category of one of those shaking their heads, wondering what is the world coming to? The kids of today are just so different than they were in my day. I can so easily picture those very thoughts running through my father’s head and likely my grandfather’s and back and back it would go.

Is it the news media and all the constant news of teen crime, teen gangs…….. That may have caused me to question a little more this upcoming generation, I don’t know. It is so easy to forget that all this negative news coverage is actually only represents those that make up a very small percentage of the teen population. A very small and really insignificant percentage of the next generation. Yet they by acting as they do get the news coverage. When I think of it that is really sad as it does give such a distorted view. The wonderful majority seem to go by unheralded unacknowledged. unrecognized, that is sad and really unfair.

Let’s face it the vast majority of kids today are good, decent wonderful and are going to go on to make very valuable contributions to this world.

This fact really struck home with me, when I recently met and spent some time with two very beautiful and charming young ladies, Alyssa age 13 and Jennalee age 15. Meeting these two young ladies can’t help but restore your faith in our future, the future of the world.

I was directed to something Alyssa posted and with permission have to share it. I think back to when I was 13 and while I really can’t remember much from that far back. I do know I lacked the maturity and depth of thought of this young Lady. This is a map to relationships many men, myself included benefit from by reading.

Her post:


January 6 9:54am
When she walks away from you mad [ Follow her ] When she stare’s at your mouth [ Kiss her ] When she pushes you or hit’s you [ Grab her and dont let go ] When she start’s cussing at you [ Kiss her and tell her you love her ] When she’s quiet [ Ask her whats wrong ] When she ignore’s you [ Give her your attention ] When she pull’s away [ Pull her back ] When you see her at her worst [ Tell her she’s beautiful ] When you see her start crying [Just hold her and dont say a word ] When you see her walking [ Sneak up and hug her waist from behind ] When she’s scared [ Protect her ] When she lay’s her head on your shoulder [ Tilt her head up and kiss her ] When she steal’s your favorite hat [ Let her keep it and sleep with it for a night] When she tease’s you [ Tease her back and make her laugh ] When she doesnt answer for a long time [ reassure her that everything is okay ] When she look’s at you with doubt [ Back yourself up ] When she say’s that she like’s you [ she really d oes more than you could understand ] When she grab’s at your hands [ Hold her’s and play with her fingers ] When she bump’s into you [ bump into her back and make her laugh ] When she tell’s you a secret [ keep it safe and untold ] When she looks at you in your eyes [ dont look away until she does ] When she misses you [ she’s hurting inside ] When you break her heart [ the pain never really goes away ] When she says its over [ she still wants you to be hers ] When she repost this bulletin [ she wants you to read it ] – Stay on the phone with her even if shes not saying anything. – When she’s mad hug her tight and don’t let go – When she says she’s ok dont believe it, talk with her – because 10 yrs later she’ll remember you – Call her at 12:00am on her birthday to tell her you love her – Call her before you sleep and after you wake up – Treat her like she’s all that matters to you. – Tease her and let her tease you back. – Stay up all night with her when she’s sick. – Watch her fav orite movie with her or her favorite show even if you think its stupid. – Give her the world. – Let her wear your clothes. – When she’s bored and sad, hang out with her. – Let her know she’s important. – Kiss her in the pouring rain. – When she runs up at you crying, the first thing you say is; “Who’s ass am I kicking babe?”
Leave a Reply

