Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Recovered lost posts


I vented and ranted a little in my previous post about how someone had gained access to my site, the administrators section and deleted a number of my earlier posts. My good blogging friend Mel came to my rescue and able to send me most of the missing posts. Mel, you are my hero, I thank you so much. I am now republishing the lost posts from oldest to newest.

Feb 18, 2008 12:05 PM

Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Brain Freeze

from Dying mans daily journal by Bill Howdle
I seem to be suffering from brain freeze or something. Seem to be lacking the energy to get to the computer and when I do, can’t really think of anything to say. The mind is just very preoccupied.

So I am going to do what I have so often done in the past. I recognize there are writers out there with much more of a talent for writing than I. I often receive wonderfully inspirational messages in emails. I received this on today and just have to share. I think all the stories are wonderful but especially like the one about being adopted. What do you think?
>
>The winner was:
>A four-year-old child, whose next door neighbor was an elderly gentleman,
>who had recently lost his wife. Upon seeing the man cry, the little boy
>went into the old gentleman’s yard, climbed onto his lap, and just sat there.
>
>When his mother asked him what he had said to the neighbor, the little boy
>just said, “Nothing, I just helped him cry.”
>
>*****************************

****************
>Teacher Debbie Moon’s first graders were discussing a picture of a
>family. One little boy in the picture had a different hair color than the
>other members. One of her students suggested that he was adopted.
>
>A little girl said, “I know all about adoption, I was adopted..”
>
>”What does it mean to be adopted?”, asked another child.
>
>”It means”, said the girl, “that you grew in your mommy’s heart instead of
>her tummy!”
>
>*********************************************
>On my way home one day, I stopped to watch a Little League base ball game
>that was being played in a park near my home. As I sat down behind the
>bench on the first-base line, I asked one of the boys what the score was.
>
>”We’re behind 14 to nothing,” he answered with a smile.
>
>”Really,” I said. “I have to say you don’t look very discouraged.”
>
>”Discourag ed?”, the boy asked with a puzzled look on his face…
>
>”Why should we be discouraged? We haven’t been up to bat yet.”
>
>*********************************************
>Whenever I’m disappointed with my spot in life, I stop and think about
>little Jamie Scott.
>
>Jamie was trying out for a part in the school play. His mother told me
>that he’d set his heart on being in it, though she feared he would not be
>chosen.
>
>On the day the parts were awarded, I went with her to collect him after
>school. Jamie rushed up to her, eyes shining with pride and
>excitement. ”Guess what, Mom,” he shouted, and then said those words that
>will remain a lesson to me…..”I’ve been chosen to clap and cheer.”
>
>*********************************************
>An eye witness account from New York City , on a cold day in December,
>some years ago: A little boy, about 10-years -old, was standing before a
>shoe store on the roadway, barefooted, peering through the window, and
>shivering with cold.
>
>A lady approached the young boy and said, “My, but you’re in such deep
>thought staring in that window!”
>
>”I was asking God to give me a pair of shoes,”was the boy’s reply.
>
>The lady took him by the hand, went into the store, and asked the clerk to
>get half a dozen pairs of socks for the boy. She then asked if he could
>give her a basin of water and a towel. He quickly brought them to her.
>
>She took the little fellow to the back part of the store and, removing her
>gloves, knelt down, washed his little feet, and dried them with the towel.
>
>By this time, the clerk had returned with the socks. Placing a pair upon
>the boy’s feet, she purchased him a pair of shoes.
>
>She tied up the remaining pairs of socks and gave them to him.. She patted
>him on the head and said, “No doubt, you will be more comfortable now.”
>
>As she turned to go, the astonished kid caught her by the hand, and
>looking up into her face, with tears in his eyes, asked her.
>
>”Are you God’s wife?”

Leave a Reply

