Dying Man’s Daily Journal – lost post of Feb 21st


Feb 21, 2008 5:49 PM

Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Role Model

from Dying mans daily journal by Bill Howdle
I think it is time I pull myself out of hibernation and get back to writing to so many of my dear friends.

I am feeling well better actually than I have in a long time. Here in Winnipeg the temperature seems to have fallen right out of the bottom of the thermometer, bitterly cold. But I can’t really complain as I just don’t go out that much. It does make it more difficult for friends to stop by and visit which is sad.

I received an email with one of the wonderful sayings. I do love receiving these and I am going to share it as I do think it is so very special and thought provoking. But I want to add the “Bill” touch to it or I suppose better put would be to just add my thoughts.

As you will see the message is from a child thanking his/her parent for being such a good role model in life. Of lessons learned even when the parent didn’t realize the child was watching.

It got me thinking about role models and setting examples. This would most certainly apply to our precious children but would or could the effect not be even more wide spread. Could it not spread to all those around us, even strangers just happening to observe us in a single isolated situation. Who can ever tell how our actions or interactions may affect another, be it in a positive or negative way.

How many of us can honestly say, we have not at some point had our heart touched just by seeing the actions of or hearing the words of another. I certainly know I have. I know there have been times when I have even seem a stranger doing something, that affected me in no way at all, but it still  just sort of touched my heart. For that brief moment that stranger became my role model, my inspiration. I think to myself the world just needs more people like him/her.

I have people I admire and maybe even secretly wish that I could be more like them, so kind, caring, generous……. Then I think to myself I wish I could be more like him or her, so what is stopping me? I see and admire their actions. It is like they by their actions, have a laid road map out right in front of me. A map that will lead me to become more like the person I admire.  So what really is stopping me or any of us?

Any change, any journey begins with the first step. Be it a big step or even a little step, it is still progress on the journey.

Do I want to be a good role model for my children and for all or am I just content to sit back and admire others for what they do? It is my choice!! In virtually everything I do, where ever it may be, I just never know who may be looking and how it may impact on them.

Here is the wonderful message I received in the email:
> Subject: Little Eyes see A Lot
>
>
>
> This is precious.
>
>
> WHEN YOU THOUGHT I WASN’T LOOKING
> (written by a former child)
>
> A message every adult should read, because children are watching you, and
> doing as you do, not as you say.
> When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw you hang my first painting on the
> refrigerator, and I immediately wanted to paint another one.
>
>
> When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw you feed a stray cat, and I
> learned that it was good to be kind to animals.
> When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw you make my favorite cake for me,
> and I learned that the little things can be the special things in life.
>
>
> When you thought I wasn’t looking, I heard you say a prayer, and I knew
> there is a God I could always talk to and I learned to t rust in God.
>
>
> When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw you make a meal and take it to a
> friend who was sick, and I learned that we all have to help take care of
> each other.
>
>
> When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw you give of your time and money to
> help people who had nothing, and I learned that those who have something
> should give to those who don’t.
> When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw you take care of our house and
> everyone in it, and I learned we have to take care of what we are given.
>
>
> When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw how you handled your
> responsibilities, even when you didn’t feel good, and I learned that I would
> have to be responsible when I grow up.
> When you thought I wasn’t looking, I saw tears come from your eyes, and I
> learned that sometimes things hurt, but it’s all right to cry.
>
>
> When yo u thought I wasn’t looking, I saw that you cared, and I wanted to be
> everything that I could be.
> When you thought I wasn’t looking, I learned most of life’s lessons that I
> need to know to be a good and productive person when I grow up.
>
>
> When you thought I wasn’t looking, I looked at you and wanted to say,
> ‘Thanks for all the things I saw when you thought I wasn’t looking.’
>
>
> I AM SENDING THIS TO ALL OF THE PEOPLE I KNOW
> WHO DO SO MUCH FOR OTHERS AND THINK NO ONE EVER SEES.
>
>
>
> LITTLE EYES SEE A LOT !
>
>
>
> Each of us (parent, grandparent, aunt, uncle, teacher or friend) influence
> the life of a child. How will you touch the life of someone today?
>
> Just by sending this to someone else, you will probably make them at least
> think about their influence on others.
>
> And May God Bless You

Leave a Reply

