Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Today


“You can’t change the past, but you can ruin the present by worrying over the future.”

This was one of the quotes contained in an email I recently received. I don’t know where the quote originally came from or I would be giving due credit.

But what more really can be said. It is along the lines of “the past is but a memory, the future but a dream, all we really have is the present”.

Lets not let our present be haunted by memories or diluted by dreams, live in the moment

6 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Today

  1. Mel says:

    *nodding happily*

    And today is a beautiful day to play in!

    BTW—we’ve lost February, March and April’s posts by you, Bill. (I was re-reading and noticed.)

    Hi Mel, I took a bit of a break, I hadn’t even realized how long a break I took, until I read this message from you. Mel, I am surprised to see the posts are gone. I have contacted the site administrators and hopefully they will be back soon. Not sure what else to do. THank you for bringing this to my attention.
    Bill

  2. babychaos says:

    Thank you for posting that quote. I really needed to see it today.

    See? ‘Told you you’re an earth angel.

    Cheers

    BC

    Hi BC, appreciate the earth angel comment, of late there certainly have been those that would disagree.

  3. Lori says:

    If everyone in the world would only worry about today rather than yesterday and tomorrow, we would be much lighter for it. I really do mean that, one second one minute one hour one day is more than enough to worry about. I think if people would all try to follow this they would find that they are better people for doing so. Perhaps they would have more time to give to each other more time for self thought more time for world thought less worry and more time. Bill I loved your challenge for everyone to do something for someone else something that you don’t take credit for but something I have been trying to do just that over and over each day, each chance I get you have no idea how good that can make you feel inside for doing something special yet so simple for someone else that you take no credit for. A person doesn’t need credit from someone else for doing something just doing that little something makes one feel so good inside. have you ever done something special for someone but not told them it was you and then just stood back and watched how they react to that something that was done for them? It is a wonderful feeling deep inside of you. I want to keep up your challenge forever! You are an earth Angel Bill and I don’t think I can say that enough. Everyone who knows you personally or through this blog is a better person for you, your thoughts and your openess! 🙂

  4. Teri says:

    Dear Bill,
    I have read the comments that call you an earth angel. I have been reading your blog for more than a year now and you are my earth angel. I have not had the nerve to ever write a comment to you, but I think it is time I do. I must thank you for all the ways you have helped me. You don’t know me, we live thousands of miles apart, but you have really touched my life and inspired me, helped me in ways you will never know or could never understand. My life has not always been and still is not easy so many times I have turned to you through your blog for the inspiration I have needed to get through an other day. You have many posts shown on google when I am in need of a lift, I turn to you. You through your writings have never let me down. I thank you so very much.
    You are an earth angel, an inspiration to me and to many others I know. This world at least my world is a better place because of you. I thank you with all of my heart. May you shine on this world for many years to come, many are better off just because you are here.
    Teri

  5. N.S. says:

    I picked up on the part of the reply you left for Babychaos as I think others may have from the wonderful messages I read here. “there are those that disagree with you being an earth angel.” All I can say to that is they can’t know you or can’t have read your blog.
    Bill, I don’t think even your realize how much you mean to so many people around the world, how much your writing has helped and inspired so many. What else can you be called but an earth angel.
    I have started to write to you many times but each time have felt unworthy of even writing to you. I wanted to thank you. You saved my life and you really did. Early last year my world seemed to end, my gran died, my wife took the kids and left and I lost my job all in the same month. I didn’t fall into a whiskey bottle I jumped in head first and I stayed there. I wanted to die, I had nothing to live for, my life was meaningless and hopeless.
    I had a plan, I will just say it involved a high bridge. My mind was set, I was only waiting for darkness and less traffic, I wanted no one to see me or to try and stop me. I was in a drunken stupor and just waiting for the time. I was surfing the net reading about death. I don’t remember how but I can on your blog. You had just done a post on how precious life is and on suicide. I was so moved by the fact that not only had you given different resources to contact but you gave your own email address as a contact. I wrote you dozens of messages that night but I never sent any of them. I kept getting drawn back to your writing the different posts. I became totally absorbed in your writing, moved and touched by everything you had to say. It seemed like after every message I read, I wrote you another message, none did I send. I spent the whole night doing this, gradually I realized the messages I was typing to you had changed from being a suicide note to just general complaining about my life.
    Had it not been for your writing, your heart that shows through it all, I know I would not have lived through that night.
    By morning, you had made me see how wonderful life really is. I went to the hospital and got the treatment and help I needed. I was in the hospital for over 3 months. While there I kept telling everyone of this wonderful man and how his writing had saved me. I had been embarrassed because while I was reading it I was so drunk I couldn’t remember any of you words, just that they were wonderful, inspiring and had saved me.
    When I got home I immediately went to my computer. It was then I realized while I had been doing my reading of your blog I had been so drunk, I couldn’t remember your name or how I had found you. It must have taken a month or so but I found you. I found your suicide post and it felt sort of like coming home. There were the words that saved my life.
    I have been following your writing ever since, and worrying every day you do not write something. You have helped more than you know, thank you.
    You are a hero to so many, an inspiration to more, an earth angel for sure.
    You have my email address now, if you want to contact me I would be thrilled.

  6. Janice says:

    I wanted to say something about Bill as someone who has known him personally for many years now. I’ve always said that of all the people I’ve ever met, he’s probably the only person I can truly call a gentleman. And it’s more than just his impeccable manners, but is about his genuine ability to take other people’s needs and thoughts into consideration. Yep, gentleman is the perfect word to describe our dear friend Bill.

    Janice

Leave a Reply

