Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Spirit within me


Had a good weekend, quiet but good. I am feeling well and just plain excited to be alive.

We were blessed to be able to share our home with a very nice young man from Thompson. Zack, is the son of a very good friend of Vi’s and came to the city. Zack we enjoyed your company.

I am happy to see people are slowly joining my totally non-exclusive group of friends. I thank each a every one so very much. I again invite all to join our wonderful little group, maybe with time we can turn it into a wonderful big group. For any that may have missed my original post on this, I invite you to read the page, shown at the top of the screen, titled “Spirit within Me”. By clicking into that page you will read all about my friends and what the purpose of that page is. I thank and welcome all that have “signed up”.

I have been thinking a lot about this sort of thing a lot lately. I believe that contained with in each and every one of us, lies an inner light. The very essence of you, call it your soul, your spirit what ever, within that light is pure goodness, pure love. I believe we are all born with that light shining brightly and that light continues to shine just as brightly through our entire lives. Sadly as we grow and mature the events of our physical world can cause us to see things differently, maybe even warping or distorting our views.

As an illustration of what I mean, I picture the flame within as being like a beautiful lamp, here in our physical world. It is a beautiful light that brilliantly and beautifully lights the entire room. I picture the negativity in our lives as being the equivalent of a shade we would put on the lamp. As soon as the shade goes on the lamp, it doesn’t outwardly seem to give off the same light. With progressive events in our lives we continue to put thicker and thicker shades on the lamp. This continual adding of additional thicker shades, gradually diminishes the amount of the light that can be seen. Just because the brightness of the light is blocked doesn’t mean it is not there. It is still there as bright and beautiful as it ever was. For anyone of about a million reasons we have just covered the light, sometimes we have covered it so well, we can no longer even see or feel it. We have to know, it really is still there just buried under the mountain of issues in life.

Many have written to me about the wonderful feelings they have enjoyed by doing simple small acts of kindness. Truly helping another, not out of necessity but out of just wanting to. They write of the warm glow they feel inside, that comes from true acts of kindness, a giving from the heart. It truly is such a wonderful feeling. A wonderful feeling I hope that we all as a group can share. That as a group we can share our stories, love and support each other on this venture.

I am sure it is safe to say, everyone would agree there needs to be changes made in the way the world is today. I am sure we agree on that. But then I question, how as only one individual can I hope to make any change “in the world”. Here is but one line from my last post.

“You may be only one person in the world, but you may also be the world to one person.” I have read this before and then always just seemed to take it as applying to loved ones etc.. I now realize that it at any given moment apply to any and everyone. If I am drowning and a stranger jumps in the water and saves me, at that time that person means the world to me. It doesn’t even have to anything nearly as dramatic. There is just no way to tell how even a seemingly insignificant gesture on our part may affect the lives of others. A single smile can light the entire world as a group we can do much better than light the world we can make it shine.

This is such a win/win situation. The recipient of our kindness will obviously benefit for the very act itself. We will benefit, from the warm glow that we will feel inside. Maybe, even managing to take at least one layer of shade off of that light within.

There is a ripple effect to goodness and kindness. Lets create not ripples but waves.

Please check out the spirit “within me page”. Also please let me know what you think of this idea.

9 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Spirit within me

  1. Vicki says:

    I am praying for you…you don’t know me, but you blog has touched my heart.

    God bless you so much today!

  2. venus00 says:

    I’m sorry I haven’t had the time to stop by as of late, but I am glad to hear that you are feeling so well. Kindness – it could change the world couldn’t it? Kindness to me is love with action. I’ve often thought the church could make a much bigger impact on this world if they would just stick to Jesus’s words “Love your neighbor as yourself” Love each other and love ourselves- that would solve all of the worlds ills. You are a man who gets this concept, which is why I adore your blog so much.

  3. Pia says:

    There’s so much I’d like to say about this post, which is incredibly like Thomas Merton. I have to find the quote. And I, too, posted about ripples a long time ago , in another blog. It’s nice to stop by here and catch up on you Bill!

  4. Jo Hart says:

    Hi Bill, Here’s to many ripples and waves.
    Currently I am struggling trying to accept the mother of my step child. She has cut off all contact with my husband and his daughter has totally turned this 14 year old against us all. We have endured this for 10 years, and today I have come to work wanting to strangle her. Now I read your post, and rethink maybe on the strangling and more into just wanting to shake her and say “wake up and smell the roses”. It’s all good, ripples, ripples, ripples……………

  5. mel says:

    (((((((((( Jo ))))))))))))) *thinkin’ of ya and praying for ya……*

    Shoot. I’ll admit it. I did really good that first week–land then et myself get too dang busy and all self-absorbed the next. *sigh*
    The good news is I can go back to do it over.
    AND I’m shooting for two to make up for the one I let get away.

    Bring on the light!

  6. Jo Hart says:

    Mel, you are such a sweetheart……. and a very honest one at that. I love how you can be so bluntly honest about yourself. Its a trait I am learning from you, as I think it is an awsome one to adopt.
    Thanks for the hugs……..

  7. babychaos says:

    I think it’s like quantuum mechanics, everything is connected at a basic level, everything is the same at a basic level and that somehow trying to live well, do something good does alter things…

    Cheers

    BC

  8. Jo Hart says:

    Hi Bill, Can I be greedy and ask for a few prayers to be sent over this way. My Aunty is in the middle of her brain surgery as we speak, trying to remove the tumor. It’s a 50/50 chance. Any prayers would be appreciated……………………… Thanks heaps
    Love Jo
    xx

  9. Ron says:

    Hi Bill~

    Your illustration here about the lamp and the shade is brilliant!!!

    So many times I think it’s the “bulb” that needs changing…however, I see now…it’s the thickness of the shade.

    The light is ALWAYS there!

    Thank you SO MUCH for sharing this, Bill….thank you!

Leave a Reply

