Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Stress Management


Often I receive emails that contain such a wonderful or meaningful message, I feel I just have to share. I look for these as so many have writing skills beyond my own and convey a message I would like to but, couldn’t do so in such an elegant manner. I received this from Kerry a very dear friend.

Stress Management:

A lecturer, when explaining stress management to an audience, raised a glass of water and asked, “How heavy is this glass of water? ”
Answers called out ranged from 8oz. To 20 oz. The lecturer replied, “The absolute weight doesn’t matter. It depends on
how long you try to hold it. “If I hold it for a minute, that’s not a problem. If I hold it for an hour, I’ll have an ache in my right arm. If I hold it for a day, you’ll have to call an ambulance.”
“In each case, it’s the same weight, but the longer I hold it, the heavier it becomes. ”
> He continued, “And that’s the way it is with stress management. If we carry our burdens all the time, sooner or later, as the burden becomes increasingly heavy, we won’t be able to carry on. ”
“As with the glass of water, you have to put it down for a while and rest before holding it again. When we’re refreshed, we can carry on with the burden. ”
“So, before you return home tonight, put the burden of work/life down. Don’t carry it home. You can pick it up tomorrow.”
“Whatever burdens you’re carrying now, let them down for a moment if you can. Relax; pick them up later after you’ve rested. Life is short. Enjoy!
And then he shared some ways of dealing with the burdens of life:

1 * Accept that some days you’re the pigeon, and some days you’re the statue.
2 * Always keep your words soft and sweet, just in case you have to eat them.
3 * Always read stuff that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it.
4 * Drive carefully. It’s not only cars that can be recalled by their Maker.
5 * If you can’t be kind, at least have the decency to be vague.
6 * If you lend someone $20 and never see that person again, it was probably worth it.
7 * It may be that your sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others.
8 * Never buy a car you can’t push.
9 * Never put both feet in your mouth at the same time, because then you won’t have a leg to stand on.
10 * Nobody cares if you can’t dance well. Just get up and dance.
11 * Since it’s the early worm that gets eaten by the bird, sleep late.
12 * The second mouse gets the cheese.
13 * When everything’s coming your way, you’re in the wrong lane.
14 * Birthdays are good for you. The more you have, the longer you live.
15 * You may be only one person in the world, but you may also be the world to one person.
16 * Some mistakes are too much fun to only make once
17 * We could learn a lot from crayons. Some are sharp, some are pretty and some are dull. Some have weird names and all are different colors, but they all have to live in the same box .
18 * A truly happy person is one who can enjoy the scenery on a detour.

Have an awesome day and know that someone has thought about you today .

7 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Stress Management

  1. A.M. says:

    We really do need to have some of our presumptions stood on their heads occasionally. I liked, ‘The second mouse gets the cheese’. We don’t always have to be first or right or even running a race. Maybe sometimes the biggest reward can come from being second. It’s nice when good advice makes you smile. : )

    Hi A.M. so nice to hear from you. The very competitive nature in so many is a wonderful thing in many ways, but also such a sad thing in many others. So often we do seem to see life as one big competition. Who can make the most money, who can have the fanciest cars, who can keep their body in the best shape…… It gets to the point where we are never satisfied, always wanting more and more. In our constant quest for more, bigger and better, we can so often just stop to enjoy life and what we have.
    I do appreciate your comment, thank you. It has been a while since I heard from “someone in Alberta” I hope all is well.
    Bill

  2. That one about lending $20 cracked me up! The cat had to come see why I was laughing so loudly.

    Hey this $20.00 thing really works. I have actually done it. I really had a guy that was constantly hounding me for money, always wanting to borrow, “a couple of hundred”. Due to life style and other reasons I was constantly saying no, and getting tired of the regular requests. I knew the chances of ever getting paid back were like zero. Finally, he hit on me for $20.00, this amount I thought I would give it a try. Either he would prove to me he was more reliable than I was giving him credit for, or it would confirm my suspicions. I gave him the $20.00 and never heard from him again. That was $20.00 well spent

  3. mel says:

    *nodding*

    I’m in the same crayola box as the other 64– LOL Of COURSE that’s the one that I’d grab on to!

    ((((((((((( Bill )))))))))))))
    Know someone’s thinking of you and Vi…… šŸ™‚

    Happy Satuday!

    Hi Mel, this is an interesting one. When you think of it a simple crayon “lives” in a box with other crayons of virtually every color. Some of the others may be sharper, some not so sharp but it makes no difference. We humans, of so much greater intelligence could take a valuable lesson from something as simple as the crayon.
    Hope you are having a good weekend.
    Bill

  4. ceeque says:

    Absolutely brilliant set of guidelines, an incredible amount of laughter! šŸ™‚ I want these on my wall – permanently!

    Hi Charles, I agree about the comments all are keepers from which we can actually learn much.
    Hope all is well with you my friend.
    Bill

  5. lifebylisa says:

    What impeccable timing. The exact message I needed in the knick of time. Thank you for sharing this.

    I do hope all is well with you. Haven’t been around for awhile…no time, then the few moments I did collect, nothing worthy of saying. Thank you again for the message I so needed to hear.

  6. missprofe says:

    Prayer helps me deal with stress. As does hot tea with lemon and honey, and a nap.:)

  7. rhosie says:

    i agree with your post… sometimes we make our life complicated wherein fact it is not…We see problem as negative one, we intend to forget that the lesson we learned out of this struggle…Problems that comes in our life makes as a better person, we learned and matured out of this experience….. instead of complaining learn to accept and be optimistic with your views and concept in life

Leave a Reply

