Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Writing/Center of my being


I am feeling good, tired but good. Sad that all the grand kids have gone home and will miss them all. Small children have such energy and are constantly on the go. Even if you are not actively involved in what ever it is they are doing, it is somehow tiring just watching them use up so much energy.

Saw my doctor on Monday. He is still concerned about the diabetes and the complications it may pose, with my heart. He spoke of foreseeing a major bump on the highway of my life coming soon. Major bump, minor bump it is all a matter of perspective, back to my two ways you can look at everything. I am excited about my life and am ready for all that live brings to me.

I just backed up to restart this paragraph as what I am saying fits right in with something a dear blogging friend Jill, asked of me. To share any tips I may have on writing. Sharing tips on my writing style now that is a tough one, I don’t think I have a style. I think of this as my journal and just sit and write what ever thoughts are in my head. When I think of it, that makes it so much easier for me. No planning, no editing nothing, just write what comes to mind. When I see the obvious work so many others put into their posts I realize how easy I have it. OK, back to what I had written before.

Today, as with most days as I come to the computer, I had no idea what I would post about, that is other than the little bit on family and health. I have to admit at the very beginning of the blog I used to fret about this a little. Sort of like, gee I am writing something on the internet I should have something maybe even meaningful to say. I don’t worry at all about that anymore. I just come and type whatever. I know something will come to me, it always does.

I do though have a process or ritual what ever you wish to call it that I do every time, prior to writing anything. I come to the computer and just relax for a minute or so. Trying to get myself into a semi meditative state. I then say a simple prayer asking God to give me some thoughts that I may share that may help someone, anyone. I then ask the Arch Angels, Michael, Gabriel, Uriel and Raphael, and all the Angels in the heavens to come to my side. To guide me and assist me in understanding and sharing any message that may help someone, anyone.

I used to come at times with somewhat of an idea in my head of what it was I wanted to write. After my little ritual, I would actually start off, title the post and go to it. More often than not I would be surprised when finished, to see my thoughts had actually taken me in an entirely different direction. The title I had previously selected and typed in some how came no where close to applying to what I had written. I give every post a title but now wait to see what I have written before I name it. Some times when I am finished I think for a moment or two on what I have said and am some what surprised, thinking, huh, I never thought of it that way before.

This is why so often I refer to myself as a rambler and not a writer. I just start off and ramble on. If in fact I do on occasion come up with a thought that may strike a chord with someone, due credit should be given where it really belongs.

Today, is a perfect example of what I am saying. Beyond an idea about the first couple of thoughts, I had no idea of what I would write about. The computer is in the office/den/library what ever you want to call it. I am surrounded by many many books. I finished my first couple of paragraphs and still had no idea on what if anything I would write. I just sat back wondering, my eyes with out any thought just wandered over to one of the bookcases, lined with books. My attention was immediately grabbed by the bright gold cover on one particular book. I couldn’t just off hand think of what the book was, so had to get up and get it to check it out.

It is titled “Taking Time To Just Be”. A Helen Exley giftbook. As soon as I saw the front cover I knew immediately which book it was and knew it contains many wonderful quotes containing such wisdom.

I said a quick prayer asking for guidance and randomly opened it. I share with you a quote by Lao Tzu, from Tao Te Ching.

“We always hope someone else will have the answer. Some other place will be better, some other time it will all turn out well. This is it. No one else has the answer. No other place will be better, it has already turned out. At the center of your being you have the answer; you know who you are and what you want.”

I had to read that a few times before it hit me as to how it applies to my life. I am the one in control of my life, I am the one responsible for my life. Yes, I can look to others for guidance or suggestions on issues in my life. But I am the one that must accept responsibility for my life. I am the one that must face my own issues, deal with them and I am the one that must face the consequences of these decisions or actions. No one else should be making my decisions for me (that excluding children). I am only now really seeing, I, at the center of my being, containing the spark of God’s love, do have the answers for me.

10 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Writing/Center of my being

  1. […] Bill at Dying Man’s Daily Journal — Bill’s tips: Writing/Center of my being […]

  2. babychaos says:

    “I would be surprised when finished, to see my thoughts had actually taken me in an entirely different direction”

    Trying to get your mind to follow a line of thought in writing is like herding cats I reckon! Whatever I write, even if it’s a tightly plotted story, my mind always ends up doing things to it which I didn’t expect or foresee. Usually it ends up the better for that. Fine quote about responsibility too.

    Cheers

    BC

    Hi BC, herding cats that is a good one, will remember that. Thank you.
    Bill

  3. Jo Hart says:

    Hi Bill, I have always admire your writing, even if you call it rambling. You always have something that makes me think long and hard about the person I am and I appreciate that. I have never been a writer, unfortunately failed english miserably in high school, and it’s not until now that I wish I had of taken a bit more notice. I see how you can turn some words into little bits of magic that strike a chord with people. I always get a little bit jealous over some of the replies that are left by all the wonderful people who visit your site, and I’m like, that’s what I want to say, but don’t know how to write it so beautifully as they do, and I well kinda just put it there in Ozzie Okka……… blurt…………. Keep rambling on my dear friend, for I will always be listening in on what you have to say.

    Jo my friend, I look forward to your comments, every thing you have to say. I do appreciate your kind words on my rambling.
    Bill

  4. Roads says:

    I love that quote, Bill, and I concur with it exactly. It’s brilliantly chosen.

    Far too many of us wish our lives away, waiting for – well, I don’t know what. Some better weather, a bigger pay packet, a faster car or a better job.

    This is it..

    If I say that we should live for now, that might seem like short-term thinking. Even hedonistic of me, almost. But nothing could be further from my mind.

    It’s really that there’s such a lot of now, and the possibilities of then are something else entirely – not even started on just yet.

    We really shouldn’t mix them up.

    And to adapt that well-known thrifty phrase, if we take care of now, it’s certain that then will take care of itself.

    Roads my friend you are so right on. If we take care of now, then will take care of itself. Yesterday is but a memory, tomorrow but a dream, live in the present for it is what we have now. That you for sharing
    Bill

  5. That quote truly is powerful Bill. Thanks for sharing it. Too often we abdicate responsibility for our own lives and own decisions because we blame others for ‘controlling’ our life direction, or we are simply afraid to take control ourselves.

    I hope your bump in the road of life is more like a little pothole. Enough to shake you up, not enough to do any damage. Better yet, I hope your MD is just wrong.

    M

    Hi Martha, you got what I was trying to say, and have stated it so well, “Too often we abdicate responsibility for our own lives and own decisions because we blame others for ‘controlling’ our life direction, or we are simply afraid to take control ourselves.”
    Thank you
    Bill

  6. Dominique says:

    Hi Bill,
    I clicked a link on a website and arrived on your blog. I dont know if you were interested but I just saw a film advertised with jack Nicholson & Morgan Freeman it is called ” The bucket List”. I beleive it is a new film out and it is about two men who are terminally ill and thay make a list the “bucket list” and set about doing all the things they ever wanted to do . It was reviewed to be a very uplifting film with a nice feel good tone to it. I just thought about it when i saw your site and thought there may be things for you to take from the film or relate too. I am in the uk it might be out in America already i dont know, their is a website & trailer. Morgan Freeman is a teriffic actor , they always use his voice as gods voice as I saw him in Evan Almighty and he played god which was a noahs ark style film which was very funny. x

    Hi Dominique, welcome. I thank you for stopping by and leaving this comment. I have seen advertisements for the movie and am looking forward to seeing it. I too am a big fan of Morgan Freeman.
    I hope to hear from you again.
    Bill

  7. Lorri says:

    I try to be responsible now, so it helps me in the “then” of life.

    I watch my diet and what I eat. I don’t want to leave this planet with my children thinking that because I ate wrong, my life was shortened (because it is a fact that it happens). I do believe that the actual food we eat has an impact on our health and lives, it has been proven. I can do without potatoes, hig fat, sugar, high calories, yadda, yadda, and still eat, not only healthy, but eat great food and feel satisfied.

    I can also eat the spiritual substance of life, to help me along the way. I am never full of that, and can’t get enough. And, guess what?! It is calorie-free.

    Hi Lorri, your comment contains much wisdom, the being responsible now and the spiritual substance. Wonderful thoughts and I thank you for sharing them. Personally, I am still struggling with the healthy food part, I will keep at it and get there, to the point you have reached. Be proud of yourself for that you are wiser and stronger than most.
    Bill

  8. Thanks so much for writing your tips down for us Bill. I’m always learning from you.

    Hi Jill, I don’t have much for writing tips as you saw, but that is what I do. Thank you for the nice comment
    Bill

  9. Bill, I loved this post. I liked hearing how you begin your writing time; by taking a minute to pray and reflect, asking for guidance. That is beautiful and such a wonderful way to begin. I smiled when I read your habit of opening a book to whatever page comes and looking for a message. I do that all the time and I nearly always get something signifcant and in tune with my life in that moment. Thank you for continuing to write and share your journey.

    Hello, welcome and thank you for leaving this so nice message. I popped over to your site and was inspired by all that I read about what you have gone through lately. I will be leaving you a comment over there.
    Hope you visit again.
    Bill

  10. Hi Bill,
    I happened upon your page today when I was searching google for one of my favorite quotes. I really love what you had to say.

    Thanks for writing. I think we can all learn quite a bit from you.

    -MM

Leave a Reply

