Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Making the best on any situation


Today is a day I am really not feeling spry. Had an outing planned this morning but am just not going to make it. As always it will pass soon.

I see today a very nice comment left by very good friends, Hal and Lois. Has me thinking back to when I first met Hal.

Hal and I shared a hospital room for a week a couple of years ago. We were both being tested for brain activity or maybe lack of it. Actually, we were both being monitored for seizures. We each had I think it was 16 electrodes and wires attached to our heads and were being monitored 24/7. Our activity or mobility was limited to about 2 or 3 feet from our beds. Actually for each of us our stay in the hospital was 2 weeks, we were just room mates for one of the weeks.

Now lets face it being “stuck” in the hospital for 2 weeks like this could be a pretty trying time, hard to endure, seemingly never ending. But truly every experience is what you make it. My week with Hal as a room mate proved to be one of the most enjoyable and memorable times of my life. Hal, I thank you buddy.

Those that know me, know I love playing practical jokes. Hey, you have to do something to liven things up when in the hospital like that. Anyway, Hal and I were shown how to disconnect ourselves from the machine, for bathroom breaks. We sometimes cheated and disconnected ourselves for more, shame on us.

Any way to the prank. I talked to one of the nurses and she was in on my plan.  I got an adult diaper when Hal wasn’t around. I had saved some peanut butter from my breakfast tray and smeared it, inside the diaper in the appropriate places and pour in some water. I then hid the diaper under unsuspecting, Hal’s bed. He returns and we just carry on business as normal. That is until the nurse, the one that was in on it, next entered the room.

I then said something to the effect: “Hal, buddy I am sorry to do this to you, but I know you have a problem that the doctors and nurses aren’t aware of. There is help for this, buddy and I am sorry but for your own good, I just have to tell the nurse. The shocked puzzled look on Hal’s face was priceless. I then said to the nurse, “if you look under Hal’s bed you will find something that will show you what the problem is.” Even more surprised look on Hal’s face. The nurse looks under the bed and pulls out the apparently soiled diaper. She showed a look of mock surprise. Poor Hal was speechless.

I quickly explained and a good laugh was had by all. Hal, buddy you were a good sport and a great room mate.

8 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Making the best on any situation

  1. I’ve made mental note not to be around you when you aren’t under Vi’s supervision!

    M

    Hi Martha, so nice to hear from you. Vi and Lois (Hal’s wife) both got a huge laugh out of it. Hope you are having a good day.
    Bill

  2. mel says:

    Funny…..I was thinkin’ how much fun you must be to be in cahoots with. LOL
    I’m thinking we could have a REALLY good time!

    Hi Mel, I agree we would have a good time, let me know if you are ever in Winnipeg. We will put our “crafty” minds together and come up with something good, I am sure.
    Bill

  3. mel says:

    *hugs*

    Feel better, Bill!

    Thank you.

  4. Jo Hart says:

    Hi Bill, hope you are starting to feel better soon.
    As for the practical joke…… What a classic. I am sure that you made Hal’s time in the hospital more bearable with lots of laughs had by all. Goes to show that we make the most out of every situation, and look, you have made a great friend.
    Thanks Bill, it goes to show that no matter what the situation, never loose your sense of humour.

    Hi Jo. I do try to practice what I write about so often, there are always 2 ways you can see or deal with any situation. I think Hal and I mutually made each others hospital stay more enjoyable. You are so right I gained a great friend out of it all. Have a great day my friend.
    Bill

  5. RubyShooZ says:

    You naughty Bill you!!

    My dad spent about a year in the hospital for some problems with his foot – he used to take his old fashioned thermometer out and put it in his coffee while the nurses weren’t looking – they almost went into shock!

    Anyhow, I just wanted to say hello, how are you, I’ve missed you muchly. I’ve been trying to get here for the longest time but you know how it is when we’re “not so spry”.

    Wishing y’all the best and you take care, okay?

    Much love to you and Vil.

    Ruby, it is great to hear from you. I have missed you also. I understand about the not getting around to visit. I have done virtually no visiting myself in the past while. Hope all is well.
    Bill

  6. Cherokee says:

    It’s always good to find like-minded people. Thanx and I’m going to add you to my RSS feed.

  7. Eledlyanene says:

    Sweet blog. I never know what I am going to come across next. I think you should do more posting as you have some pretty intelligent stuff to say.

    I’ll be watching you . 🙂

  8. What an excellent blog, I’ve added your feed to my RSS reader. 🙂

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

