Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Food for thought


As many know I love to receive emails, the jokes and the wise and often touching sayings. Often when one really strikes me I will copy and post it.

Today, I received one from a dear friend and it really struck a chord with me and I want to share it. The message just indicates it was written by George Carlin, I am not sure where the actual script was obtained from.

Subject: George Carlin

> GEORGE CARLIN (His wife recently died…)
>
>
> Isn’t it amazing that George Carlin – comedian of the 70’s and 80’s – could write something so very eloquent…and so very appropriate.
>
> A Message by George Carlin:
>
> The par adox of our time in history is that we have taller buildings but shorter tempers, wider Freeways, but narrower viewpoints. We spend more, but have less, we buy more, but enjoy less. We have bigger houses and smaller families, more conveniences, but less time. We have more degrees but less sense, more knowledge, but less judgment, more experts, yet more problems, more medicine, but less wellness.
>
> We drink too much, smoke too much, spend too recklessly, laugh too little, drive too fast, get too angry, stay up too late, get up too tired, read too little, watch TV too much, and pray too seldom.< /B>
>
> We have multiplied our possessions, but reduced our values. We talk too much, love too seldom, and hate too often.
>
> We’ve learned how to make a living, but not a life. We’ve added years to life not life to years. We’ve been all the way to the moon and back, but have trouble crossing the street to meet a new neighbor We conquered outer space but not inner space. We’ve done larger things, but not better things.
>
> We’ve cleaned up the air, but polluted the soul. We’ve conquered the atom, but not our prejudice. We write more, but learn less. We plan more, but accomplish less. We’ve learned to rush, but not to wait. We build more computers to hold more information, to produce more copies than ever, but we communicate less and less.
>
> These are the times of fast foods and slow digestion, big men and small character, steep profits and shallow relationships. These are the days of two incomes but more divorce, fancier houses, but broken homes. These are days of quick trips, disposable diapers, throwaway morality, one night stands, overweight bodies, and pills that do everything from cheer, to quiet, to kill. It is a time when there is much in the showroom window and nothing in the stockroom. A time when technology can bring this letter to you, and a time when you can choose either to share this insight, or to just hit delete…
>
> Remember; spend some time with your loved ones, because they are not going to be around forever.
>
> Remember, say a kind word to someone who looks up to you in awe, because that little person soon will grow up and leave your side.
>
> Remember, to give a warm hug to the one next to you, because that is the only treasure you can give with your heart and it doesn’t cost a cent.
>
> Remember, to say, ‘I love you’ to your partner and your loved ones, but most of all mean it. A kiss and an embrace will mend hurt when it comes from deep inside of you.
>
> Remember to hold hands and cherish the moment for someday that person will not be there again.
>
> Give time to love, give time to speak! And give time to share the precious thoughts in your mind.
>
> AND ALWAYS REMEMBER:
>
> Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
>
> If you don’t send this to at least 8 people….Who cares?
>
> George Carlin

All I can say is, Right on Mr. Carlin

12 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Food for thought

  1. rhosie says:

    this is so wonderful post….most of the time we might taken for granted those simple things….all the thoughts in the letter were true…we never realized the value of such thing until we lost them…
    Godbless..

    Hi rhosie, isn’t it so sad but true, “we never realized the value of such thing until we lost them…”
    Blessings and thanks to you my friend
    Bill

  2. Mel says:

    “We’ve been all the way to the moon and back, but have trouble crossing the street to meet a new neighbor ”

    That one hit me between the eyes.
    A little gal moved in across the street over three months ago— and sadly, I’ve yet to make the time to welcome her.

    Five minutes of my time out of the 10080 in a week….I’m thinking I’ll make that one happen tomorrow morning.

    Thanks, Bill.

    Mel, I imagine you will both gain from your visit across the street. Good for you in taking the initiative.
    Bill
    She thanks you as well, I’m sure!

  3. Simonne says:

    Thanks Bill, this is wonderful. I have actually read this before, but you just get more out of it every time you read it.
    Much love to you and Vi,
    Simonne x

    Hi Simonne, you are so right. I seem to get more and more out of it with each reading.
    Hope all is well and blessings to your my dear friend
    Bill

  4. babychaos says:

    Spot on! Thanks for sharing this, it’s brilliant.

    Cheers

    BC

    Hi BC, thanks for the visit, I will pop over and visit you soon.
    Bill

  5. rhea says:

    Hi Bill, good to see you back at the computer and writing again. Hope you’re hanging in there.

    Of all the problems described in that wonderful email, I think two solutions are alluded to that perhaps can’t solve everything, but that can be two huge steps in the right direction. We can all benefit from laughing more and praying more. Life will always bring hardship and heartache. Laughter and prayer make it all not only tolerable, but worthwhile.

    Time for me to take the cotton out of my ears and put it in my mouth, as I’m greatly lacking in laughter and prayer these days.

    Thanks for sharing this.

    Hi rhea, you are so right on. Laughter and prayer can’t help but make life and the whole world a better place. I thank you for sharing this thought
    Bill

  6. Autumn Storm says:

    Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    I thank you for the visit and the comment
    Bill

  7. Gina says:

    Beautiful. Thanks for reminding me it’s the small things in life that are the most important.

    Hi Gina, I think we all often need reminder of what is important in life, or at least I know I certainly do.
    Bill

  8. Ron says:

    Boy, Bill…this should be a required reading in every school.

    It certainly taught “me” a thing or two!

    I quess we’re never too old…to learn!

    Much thanks, buddy!

    Ron, I agree with you about it being required reading, it is wonderful. I have to chuckle at the never to old to learn comment as I realize how much it directly applies to me. When I was younger I thought I knew everything. It is only now that I am “maturing” that I really do see how much I do have to learn.
    Good to hear from you, buddy
    Bill

  9. Pia says:

    I know it’s a bit overdue, but Happy New Year, Bill..

    Pia, I thank you my friend, all the best wishes are returned to you and yours.
    Bill

  10. Jo Hart says:

    What a great message Bill.
    Sorry I have been off air, still just popping in on Thurs morning to do the wages, and still yet to set my computer up at home. I have missed our chats…….. Being away makes me realize that Bill’s Blog is apart of my daily ritual. Back at work on Monday after a wonderful 3 weeks off. Unfortunately though, as I bragged about being by the pool all holidays, we have had 3 weeks of rain, rain, rain and even more rain. We have managed only 2 days of sunshine, with more rain in the afternoon…….. So my plans for the holidays were a little changed…… (Thats what I get for bragging I suppose!!!!)
    We have had a little sad news over the holidays. My Aunty Rose, which is Terry’s mum has been diagnozed with a Brain Tumor. We don’t know the next step yet until she sees the neurosurgeon, but the doctor has told her that brain tumors are very slow growing and that hers in the size of an orange in her brain, so that she has had it for at least 20 to 30 years. This really sets my mind a buzzing, how can we not know these things? Apparently brain tumors normally push towards the skull, but hers is pushing down onto her brain, which is causing her organs to play up etc. My heart bleeds for my cousins and uncle as they have just lost there brother/son and now they are going to be going through it again with there mum/wife. I feel helpless with words of what to say to them.
    Anyway my dear friend, back on track on Monday….. I’ve been saying that who wants to go back to reality, work, bills, kids to school, kids to sport, blah blah blah, but when I look at it, I’m very lucky I have a reality I can fit back into, and I don’t think I would change it for the world.
    Love to you and Vi……….

    Hi Jo, I am sorry to hear the weather didn’t cooperate with you vacation time. It will be nice to have you back at work, (selfish of me I know) but I to miss hearing from you on a regular basis.
    I am so sorry to hear of your Aunt. My heart also bleeds for the poor family they have already endured so much this year. From what you say it sounds like your Aunt’s brain tumor is similar to my own. Mine though is described as being the size of a large walnut and not an orange.
    Please convey my very best wishes to all and they are in my heart thoughts and prayers.
    Jo, please keep me up to date on what is happening.
    I thank you my friend
    Bill

  11. psychscribe says:

    Hi Bill, this is lovely, and so hard for me to belive George Carlin wrote it! This is the comedian quoted here, yes? I’ve never liked his sarcastic humor yet look at these beautiful words! Today I posted a very similar quote on my blog by Anna Quindlen…such synchronicity! Blessings and a very Happy New Year.

    Hi there, the writing is indeed beautiful. I received it by way of an email, which credits George Carling the comedian with the writing. I will be over to check out your post.
    I thank you for the visit
    Bill

  12. Lottie says:

    George Carlin did not write The Paradox of Our Time!

    Variations: Numerous versions are prefaced with this:

    What a difference a sad event in someone’s life makes.

    GEORGE CARLIN (His wife recently died… )

    Isn’t it amazing that George Carlin – comedian of the 70’s and 80’s – could write something so very eloquent… and so very appropriate.

    Origins: In May 1998, Jeff Dickson posted the ‘Paradox of Our Time’ essay to his Hacks-R-Us online forum, loosing it upon the Internet. The essay has since been attributed to comedian George Carlin, an unnamed Columbine High School student, and that most prolific of scribes, Anonymous.

    George Carlin very emphatically denied he had had anything to do with “Paradox,” a piece he referred to as “a sappy load of shit,” and posted his comments about being associated with this essay on his own web site. With reference to the “His wife recently died” line found in many of the forwards, Brenda Carlin, the comedian’s wife, died on 11 May 1997 of liver cancer.

    The true author of the piece is neither George Carlin nor Jeff Dickson, nor is he anonymous. Credit belongs with Dr. Bob Moorehead, former pastor of Seattle’s Overlake Christian Church. (He retired in 1998 after 29 years in that post). The essay appeared under the title “The Paradox of Our Age” in Words Aptly Spoken, Dr. Moorehead’s 1995 collection of prayers, homilies, and monologues used in his sermons and radio broadcasts:

    Snopes.com

Leave a Reply

