Dying Man’s Daily Journal – I’m back


I have missed the past few days, getting on line. A combination of not feeling so well, doctors appointments and life getting in the way. But, I am back up and at it.
A few days ago I happened upon a friend from back in the high school days. A big hi to K. I am looking forward to chatting and catching up.

I started the rest of this post on New Years Day, and will just carry on from there.

Happy New Year to all. May 2008 be the best year of your life to date and may every year there after just keep getting better and better.

My New Year’s toast to all: “May the very best day in your past, be not nearly as good as the worst day in your future.”

I know I should likely come up with a different toast as I have used it often in the past. But, hey, I like it and it really expresses my thoughts.

I think I must be a New Year’s grinch or something. I just don’t get excited about it at all. In my younger days I always got more excited but that was about the big New Year’s eve party.

I think it is wonderful that some can get all excited about the time, seeing it as a new year marking new beginnings. The excitement of see a whole new year lying before them. A time to reflect back on the good and even the not so good in the past year just gone by. It is a determined time of resolutions on how we are going to make this new year better. It is an exciting time of new beginnings and that it is.

I am sure I am depriving myself of some excitement and even joy by not getting all worked up about New Years. It is just I see every day a having the potential for new beginnings and don’t need a date on the calendar to remind me of that.

I used to make resolutions and still do but a different kind. In the past my resolution was firm that on Jan. 1st. I was either going to stopping doing something or start doing something, whatever. Usually, by the 3rd. or the 4th. I felt like a failure or at least disappointed in myself as I had let up on my resolve or failed at what ever it was.

I still make resolutions, but I make them all through the year. Every day truly is a new beginning, a beginning of the rest of my life. My resolutions are more like I am going to make a real effort to do or not do what ever. I accept it may not be a total success immediately, I may have the odd stumble but hey I am just working on it. But, I mean really trying working at it. If I have a stumble, just think, huh I will give myself a day or two to regroup and get at it again.

I’m not sure by doing it this way, maybe I am giving myself a way out. But, it does seem to encourage me to keep trying and not just give up after a first failure. What do you think?

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – I’m back

  1. venus00 says:

    I agree. New Year’s just doesn’t do it for me, plus I’m old and staying up past midnight makes me grumpy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hi Venus, I have figured it out, actually my daughter suggested it. I can celebrate New Year’s with people in other time zones. That way I get to celebrate the time and still get to bed. lol Hey it works for me.
    Bill

  2. philippa says:

    hello

    i dont no if you remember me??!

    its philippa

    just wanted to say thanks for all them coments !!

    so hope you all had a good christmas

    xx Philippa it is so nice to hear from you. All those comments were left by people that care about you. We all hope both you and your father are doing fine. I received a comment from your brother Elliot, I sent him an email but maybe he is to busy or didn’t get it or something. I hope you don’t mind I will be emailing you again in the next day or two.
    Philipa, know you are in the heart and prayers of many.
    When I send my email, I hope you will write back and I do hope to hear from you brother again.
    Bless you my young friend.
    Bill

  3. Selma says:

    I agree too. Keeping yourself open to possibilities throughout the year is the best way to go. Very wise words!

    Hi Selma, I agree always be open to change or to new possiblities. Hope all is well with you my friend
    Bill

  4. mel says:

    *waving at phillipa*
    And a joyful new year to you, kiddo! (unforgettable, you are!)

    Greetings to YOU, Sir Bill!
    And I’m glad to hear from ya…..hoping all’s well today!

    I’m not one for ‘New Year Resolutions’. Heck, there’s something I’m finding resolution with day in day out. And cuz I don’t do it perfectly it would seem the Big Guy makes arrangements for me to get plenty of practice. Practice, practice and more practice! OH BOY!
    Resolve once a year (apparently) wasn’t enough for me. LOL

    I like that each day is a new day.
    And I like that it’s all about what I choose to make of it.
    Maybe that’s cuz I’m such a control freak, eh? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Joyous Friday to you, sir.
    And enjoy your weekend.

    Mel my dear friend. Can I ever relate to you in saying practice, practice…. But, hey if we keep practicing sooner or later we will get it right, or at least I am sure you will, me I am not so sure.
    Have a great weekend
    Bill

Leave a Reply

