Please, help me celebrate my birthday


Wow, somehow time has really slipped away on me. This past month seemed to just blur past almost in the blink of an eye. I realize it is less than 2 weeks until my birthday. I will be 61. I just don’t have the words, no one myself included really thought I would reach this point. But, here I am and I want to celebrate and I am flat out asking all my blogging friends, an that may read this to help me make it special. How can you help me make it a special day. That answer is easy, send me gifts. What kind of gifts you may ask? The very same gifts I have asked for, each and ever birthday since I first started the blog, RANDOM ACTS OF KINDNESS.

Now just to clarify one point as we start. Each year as I have made this request, I have received requests for my home address. People thinking of sending me things. I have always declined such requests in what I hope was a sensitive and tactful way.  No where on the blog have I ever revealed my home address other than I live in Winnipeg. That being for the very reason I am not seeking any material gifts for myself.

i am asking for all to perform random acts of kindness. I know everyone already does thiS countless times each day. I am asking that one more be done.
These random acts of kindness, the size of the act or for whom it is done, does not matter.
All that matters is that from the love and kindness contained within our hearts we did something to help or make the lives of another better or easier even if it is by just the slightest little bit.
It is each us taking that little extra step just because we can. It is the little extra bit that makes the difference.
The random part means it can’t be something we are expected to do. Nor can it be something for which we expect recognition or reward. If by chance someone does try to reward our act, we kindly decline. Instead just ask that it be passed on in some way.
I just noticed my birthday, Dec. 13th. Happens to fall on a Friday this year. Some may even at least partially think, Friday the 13th to be an unlucky day. Let’s turn that thinking around for this year and make it a day that is just even a little bit better for someone, anyone.
I could go on and on about the wonders of giving and I will be in upcoming posts. For today I have rambled long enough, my pillow is loudly calling my name

5 Responses to Please, help me celebrate my birthday

  1. M T McGuire says:

    Mwah ha hahrgh! Bill, I think of you EVERY time I do a random act of kindness now! It’s your trade mark. I will try to make sure I do something interesting.

    Cheers

    MTM

  2. Noel says:

    Happy Birthday!!!

  3. Hilary says:

    Hi Bill – the 13th is a good day .. I’m a 13th baby too – not this month though, yet you share your b’day with a great friend of mine.

    I will do some kindness acts with you in mind on the 13th .. and I make a point of remembering others – though I’m just as selfish as many others and could do better ..

    Happy Birthday though … and congratulations when the 13th comes around .. Hilary

  4. rangewriter says:

    Wow! We are almost twins! I will also turn 21 in…ah..less than 20 days! Happy Birthday…I’m off on a mission of random kindness in your honor.

    Hi Linda, happy upcoming birthday. What a coincidence I will also be turning 21. I have had a lot of practice at this being 21, lots of experience. I may still get it right one of these days.
    Bill

  5. Mel says:

    *snickering* I need to practice being 21! I have loads of practice being 8…and the sidewalk chalk and bubbles to prove it. Oh, I’m not ever growing up and you can’t make me!! Ohhh…wish I’da thought to have had a card made up that said “Thanks for helping Bill celebrate his birthday!” when we paid for a seniors groceries the other day. It was our Thanksgiving gift…and it nearly made me cry. We might have to do that again….it was a heartwarming thing to do.
    Yaknow…I can’t do one of those without thinking of you….just saying.
    Happy early birthday greetings!!
    21, indeed! *laughing*

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 254 other followers

