Dying Man’s Daily Journal – How to treat the dying


I have written about my cousin Joe. He is battling the end stages in his fight with cancer. Last evening I talked to Ev (wife). Given the circumstances she is holding up very well but is obviously very tired.

All realize Joe can not win his battle with cancer. The fight now is to gain more please how often have I written about how precious is our time. It is something we so take for granted until we reach a situation such as this. Only now can we see how valuable it is, how much it means to us. This is also when discussions seriously begin about quality of life.

 

How do I describe Joe? He is very much a man’s man but not in the swaggering macho style. A gentleman in every sense of the word. He takes everything in stride and soldiers on.
I wrote the other day of how proud I am of all the family out there. Aunt Isabel, I am not sure if it was something in the well water out there on the farm or more likely your mothering skills, but you have an amazing family. It truly is an amazing, a heart warming thing to behold. That sense of family, if one is down the others all just rush in to help and be there for each other.
What is wonderful to see is that same sense of family has been passed on to the next generation.
Ev is so appreciative. Ev says even some of the medical staff have commented they have never seen the likes of it before.
I learned last night, Joe has a room mate. A lady going through much the same as he is. I don’t know anything about this lady other than she is suffering and gets few if any visitors. What is the Howdle reaction? Pull back the curtain and welcome her into the family. I knew family was sending home cooked meals to the hospital for Joe and Ev. I learned last night there is always a third plate in the delivery.
I wish I wasn’t about 850 miles away

2 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – How to treat the dying

  1. hilarymb says:

    Hi Bill .. that’s great thoughtful news … when my mother was in the Acute Brain Injury Unit .. the six beds ‘worked’ together if the patient needed the extra input … I still have friends from those days …

    … and now I take flowers and strawberries at this time of year for the lady I still visit at the Nursing Centre .. it’s the little things that count …

    The Howdle family stands out and highlighting Aunt Isabel is a great gesture, more than that … while Ev must be a tower of strength to all around … inspiring to read ..

    With thoughts and hugs to all – Hilary

    Thank you Hilary. Taking those flowers is such a thoughtful gesture. As for my family what can I say, they are a great bunch

  2. Beatrice says:

    Sending Gods Blessings and prayers to everyone. God is good and his will be done. Amen!

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 254 other followers

