Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Making the World Better


I have had a few I guess you could call them down days, not feeling spry at all. Feeling better. Have a couple of heart tests planned for next week which could be telling us a lot. It is the waiting the uncertainty that I find the hardest to deal with. I am sure patience is one of the life lessons I am to learn.

In a comment a a few days back I had a very interesting question posed to me. It was a very good question (as are allquestions). Diane I do thank you for asking me that I really had not thought of things in that way. Her question: “Do you feel your efforts have brought any real change or is reading your posts like the next chapter in a novel. It is read, put down as a regular novel and life is back to normal.”?

Well I hope I have had at least some impact be it ever so small on at least a few lives. Am I egotistical enough to think that someone will read my ramblings and there life will be changed for ever going forward? NO!!! I simply share my thoughts and feelings of the moment. I am not even going to say “my” thoughts are worthy of changing anyone else’s own thoughts feelings or actions. Take what you like and leave the rest.

If someone, anyone benefits in a positive way if even momentarily. I am content and it is worth the effort. I believe if we don’t open our hearts and at least try to do good, help others this world of ours will never change. The change has to begin with each of us individually doing our little bit no matter how small that little bit may seem. Every little bit adds up to make a big bit. That thought, of doing even a little bit reminds me of a post. OK, I went looking and found it way back in ’08. Here it is maybe it will illustrate what it is I am trying to say.

A woman was walking along a beach when she saw a man scooping up starfish off the sand and tossing them into the waves. Curious, she asked him what he was doing. He replied “When the tide goes out it leaves these starfish stranded on the beach. They will dry up and die before the tide comes back in, so I am throwing them back into the sea where they can live.”

The woman laughed, “But this beach is miles long and there are hundreds of stranded starfish, most will die before you reach them – do you really think throwing back a few starfish is going to make a difference?”

The man picked up a starfish and looked at it and threw it into the waves. “It makes a difference to this one” he said.

I received this wonderful story as part of a comment left by my new good blogging friend, Jennie. I thank you so much for this Jennie, the story is so inspirational. There really is so much we can all learn from it.

In the story here we have a man seemingly taking on a hopeless or maybe even seemingly a useless task. There are miles of beach all of which he alone can’t possibly cover to save all of the starfish. But, does he give it up as a useless or hopeless task, NO. He realizes you Maybe can’t mean the world to everyone, but you can be the world to someone. He was doing his part, to help the world and meant the world to those starfish he did save.

I meant it when I said he was doing his part to help the world, he realize that every little bit counts, every little bit helps. He was showing his true character and the size of his heart by helping a living thing in trouble. I can only imagine that a man with a heart this big would be also helping other people in anyway he could with that same determined effort. Realizing every little bit helps, no extra effort is to small and no one would be seen as being not worth his help. He would just do what he could and I am sure felt better in his heart for knowing he did what he could.

Can you imagine what the world would be like if we all did that, had that attitude. If we all just did what we could instead of just throwing up our hands in despair, thinking this task, this problem, whatever is just to big, so big that nothing I could ever do would make a difference. That thinking is just so wrong as truly every little bit helps. Love is what make this world go around. It is the one thing there really can never be to much of. It truly is a case of the more the better. You have it in your heart, an inexhaustible supply of love. By showing it, sharing it through a simple act of kindness to another can be your way of doing your bit to make the world a better place.

Sharing this love can and will have its own rewards as you will feel the very love in your heart that you are giving away is growing, more than you can imagine.

5 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Making the World Better

  1. Brian Alger says:

    Sharing your story as courageously, openly, and insightfully as you do can only provide benefit to others. We live is a society that fears crucial discussions like these. I value this site and I have personally benefited from reading your work. You do indeed put a great deal of heart into your writing and it can be felt coming off of each page.

    I think it was in the Power of One that I recall hearing: “A waterfall starts with a single drop of water.”
    Thank you

  2. Mel says:

    You’ve such an amazing heart, sir….faulty as it might be–it’s STILL amazing. And I love you for the difference you’ve made in my life and in the lives of others. I’ve been privileged to be around to witness some of that…so I know the powerful presence you can have and be. I know what your presence has meant to me.

    I do believe we all have choices–we can walk the beach and feel sad for the starfishes and not bother…..or we can bother. You’ve bothered–over and over and over again. More than bothered, Bill. You’ve gone that extra mile and a half to connect with people, to be present for them…even when you couldn’t change the circumstances, you persevered to be present for others. On here. Through email. On the phone. In your livingroom….playing crib with the neighbor–you’ve persevered to BE present for others…cuz that’s just who you are…
    You’ve been living that story of the starfish for some time, yaknow. And I adore that story, too–cuz it speaks to my passion/mission and purpose.

    I told you, at the end of January when I needed to make sure you KNEW –“Matters to this one”.
    It’s still mattering. And I’m grateful for what gets brought to me every time I hit the link and land here.
    I don’t even need to READ, Bill……I just need to land here and I’m reminded of how graced I am …..and how powerful LOVE is.

    (((((((( Bill ))))))))))
    Just sayin’….
    Thank you

  3. Dan says:

    Good Quote: We either make ourselves happy or miserable. The amount of work is the same.
    – Carlos Castaneda

    I think you do make a differance in other lives in that it causes them to think how they would feel if they were in your place. Perhaps a few will make a list of the things they would do. We will all have to make some tough decisions some day. Most people think that day will be far in the future. Your blog will at least give them a reason to think about it. It may give some the courage to face death head on like you are doing. People need to learn to accept death just like they accept life. The two go together hand in hand. For every start there is a finish.
    Thank you

  4. Babychaos says:

    Seriously wise words and I love the story. Do not be disheartened, and keep writing if you can because you are doing something wonderful.

    Take care you.

    BC
    thanh you BC

  5. hilarymb says:

    Hi Bill – the ideas and thoughts you’ve given us are so important – something tangible may not come right now .. but in the future I’m sure those seeds you’ve laid will sprout and flower.

    There’s always that reason … that is why you’re writing … and why we read …

    With thoughts – Hilary
    Thank you Hilary

Leave a comment