Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Perspective


On a day by day basis I can’t really see any change in myself, physically, emotionally or spiritually. Usually, such change takes place so gradually I don’t even realize it is happening. It seems to take the happening of some event for me to gauge the change.

One of those type of events happened a couple of days ago. Our car was broken into. I understand now if you hit the lock mechanism on the door of a car really hard, it will drive it straight into the door and unlock it in the process. We are fortunate that other than the broken door lock, a few scratches around the ignition and the contents of the glove compartment being scattered nothing was damaged.

It is in my reaction to this I can see the change. At times in the past I would have been furious and been upset about it for who knows how long. This time my reaction was different, it was sort of, “huh, isn’t that to bad, I guess this is going to mean a visit to the car insurance”. I then even said a little prayer for who ever did it.

Who ever did it is in need of prayers and help. I think of how sad or even pathetic their lives must be for them to have to resort to this sort of thing. It is like, I can get the lock fixed and everything for me will be back to normal. But this poor person is still “stuck” in their life. When I think about it that way I feel kind of sorry for them. I suppose this ties in with what I wrote about yesterday, separate the deed from the doer. I dislike what they did to our car, but I can’t help but feel sorry for the person. What a sad life they must have to resort to this sort of thing and with this sort of thing going on in their lives today, what can the future hold?

Some thing else I have learn, that is very big for me. By the time I learned of the car, the deed was already done. There was nothing I could do to change that, it was beyond my control. All I could control was how I allowed it to affect me. I could allow myself to get all upset and bothered. By doing that what am I doing? Really, I am just further adding to my own “misery”. I am giving the vandals or would be car thieves further power to hurt me, beyond what they have already done to the car. I would in essence be giving them more power over me. There fore, for my own peace of mind and well being I will not allow myself to get upset.

Plus, I want to thank Kelly, my friend, who’s blog is on my blog roll, West Coast Grrlie Blather. Kelly wrote of a friend who’s car was not only vandalized, it was torched and completely destroyed. Kelly, your post helped me look at our little issue with a little more “proper” perspective and helped me realize over all I am a lucky man.

16 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Perspective

  1. Catherine says:

    You are a lucky man…….with wisdom and love overflowing.

  2. running kate says:

    You are right in realizing that once you found the car, the deed was done. There is nothing at that point that could change it. I can learn from you that while things get me upset and aggrivate me, they have been done and there is nothing that can change that ‘past’ only I can do things to change how I react to the present and the past in order to change how the future will look.
    Thanks for your insightful post, it helps others to keep things in perspective just as you have done.

  3. Irene says:

    Hi there Bill,

    You’re right…life is just a bunch of choices. It is what we make it. The “yucky” stuff will always happen, it’s what we do with it that makes the difference. Happiness or unhappiness are all a matter of choice.

    I also certainly commend you for being so tolerant and so gracious with the person(s) who did this vandalism. You’re right though, anyone who does this kind of thing must be frightened of something or someone. Inner demons are powerful things. I too will pray that whoever did this will find peace and redemption. Thanks for reminding me to see the other side.

    Peace, prayers and light always, Wiseman.
    Irene

  4. Gloria Allen says:

    Great post Bill. Excellent prospective! Good for you for not taking on what you can’t change!

    On a different note, please remind Vi that our visit should not be a “make work” project for her. We appreciate her painting, but we plan to spend little time in the bedroom, and when we are we will be sleeping! Please don’t go to alot of trouble.

    Gloria.

  5. missprofe says:

    Hi, Bill.

    It’s been a while since I posted.

    I’m sorry to hear about the incident with your car, and Praise God that you and Vi weren’t hurt.

    As for the person who did it, my mother would express what you have about the person. I, on the other hand, haven’t reached that level of spirituality.

  6. LorriM says:

    I’m sorry about your car. You seem to have great patience and understanding about the incident. And, that is a good thing, causing less stress, on both your body, and your emotional well-being.

  7. Mel says:

    Life is 10% of what happens to you and 90% of how you react to it. I always liked that saying–and here you are living it!

    Good on you, Bill!!
    Perspective is everything.
    And I’m liking yours whole bunches!

  8. Moe says:

    It’s in amazing how much perspective can affect us?

    It’s funny, because even though I do feel bad for you, having your car broken into is horrible! But I feel sad for the person who did it. At this rate, their future doesn’t look to bright.

    I love how many comments are always on your posts. I enjoy reading over them. 🙂

    ~Kelsey

  9. ceeque says:

    Much as I admire your reaction to the car incident, it frightens me greatly that this kind of mindlessness seems so endemic in all cultures nowadays and we don`t seem to learn from it?
    Great post though, yet again the commonsense rules!! 🙂
    Hope you feeling ok and up to your visitors! 🙂

  10. Sage's mommy says:

    Hey Dad! As I told you on the phone, I’m sorry to hear about the car, however, this experience has served as a teaching tool to many of us who read your posts. You are our teacher and I thank you for that.

    Hey, I’m 41002! Does that count for anything? Do I win the recipe for Vi’s egg salad?

    Love ya!

    Billie

  11. Allison says:

    Sorry to hear about your car. I am sure glad it was only the car and not your home that was broken into. Rick and I had our Van stollen when we were in Winnipeg once. We came for a big shopping trip to buy some things for my daycare. The Van was all gased up and loaded so we could leave early the next day. We were just getting some coffees ready and went to leave. Then we noticed it was gone. All out stuff we had bought the van everything. It was so depressing and I really let it get to me. The police later found it and some kids took it for a joy ride it needed some work they took everything even our 2 cars seats for the boys. In the end it all worked out it was more time off work new car seats and more stuff to rebuy. We got the van fixed and luckily I kept most of my reciepts in my purse so we could claim it on our Visa insurance. So that was my story. I did have a though about it the next day. I said to my husband maybe we shouldn’t have been on the highway today. I don’t think we were supposed to travel. Maybe you are right Ally he said and we let it go. I think it was our gurdian angel stering us down a different path.
    I am glad you have such a soft heart and don’t let things get you worked up any more. It really doesn’t help anything.
    Love Allison
    Ally

  12. saija says:

    awww, sorry about the car Bill … but you put things in proper perspective … as you did in your last post …

    if we could all live daily, in light of eternity … what a difference it would make!

    hope you have a good sleep!

  13. babychaos says:

    Ah… I wrote a comment on your last post just before reading this and now I see that you are a mile ahead of me! Probably a few parsecs to be honest….

    I’m sorry to hear about your car but at least your priorities are in good order!

    Cheers

    BC

  14. Vicky says:

    Also… didn’t think that sort of thing happened in a civilised country !
    We get it all the time so nothing surprises me here.
    Vicky

  15. Vicky says:

    Good for you Bill….. I am so glad that this did not upset you. I know how you feel as I have had a couple of my cars broken into over the years (but this is a regular occurence in South Africa). I also feel sorry for the people that do this sort of thing. To be in that situation where your choice is to break into someone else’s car/home and steal. How desperate the person must be for a fix or a few cents as they don’t get much on the streets for what they steal.

    At this point I must add…. Have an attitude of gratitude ALWAYS ! Grateful for what we have… the beauty around us, someone to love and be loved, a roof over our head and/or a meal on the table. Just simple gratitude for small mercies.

    Thank you for sharing this with us and thereby reminding us to continually be thankful for our small mercies.

    Love you lots
    Vicky

  16. […] one’s car is broken into, you get angry that you have to go through the trouble of contacting your insurance agent and send […]

Leave a comment